1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDCP enabled plasmas....?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by davei, Mar 6, 2005.

1. davei

davei

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

have been trying to decide between buying the panny pw6 (plasma) and the sagem axium 50" (DLP) . i've been put off the sagem 50 due to speaking to people on thbe site who tell me that this set is not hdcp enabled and thus will simply not work when sky start to broadcast hi def.

how does it stand with the plasmas on the market at the mo? are any of these hdcp enabled?

Call me a fool but is it not the case that 99% of the uk havent even heard of hd anyway? - and so whats gonna happen when sky starts to broadcast in hi -def?

am a total novice to all this but i presume 99% of us will be screwed anyway?... :confused:

2. John Langton

John Langton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe my Fujitsu P50XHA10US is HDCP enable as it says it is in the instruction manual. This is through the DVI input

John

3. davei

davei

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    the sagem 50 has a dvi input too, so maybe it is hdcp enabled too?

the sagem doesnt appear to be hdcp enabled looking at the posts on this site but the people in comet today seemed to think NOTHING is truly hdcp compliant until sky makes its mind up (dont know how much faith to store in what the people at comet say tho...)

4. John Langton

John Langton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also my knowledge is very small but HDCP is nothing to do with sky or a program for that matter. If I am correct it is a specification designed to protect digital entertainment. Check this out