HD72i and low ceilings

talcy

Established Member
Reaction score
Has anyone had any experiance ceiling mounting this on low ceilings, just about ready to order and stumble across reviews about low ceiling height and problems due to lack of lens shift.

my room dimensions are

floor to ceiling- 7ft 6in
width wall to wall- 11ft
back wall to screen position- 13ft 6in
seating position to screen- 11ft 6in
screen of choice 7ft but im flexable

So basically is this possible in my space, any advice would be greatly appreciated as im still new to projectors but learning fast, thanks to this forum.

Cheers in advance

The HD72 drops about 1.5" for every foot away from the screen, therefore at 10ft back the top of the image will be 15" below the height of the projector, this is quite a large offset for a projector and one of the reasons why I won't be buying it.
Dave

My basement ceilings are only 6'6" and the screen is mounted pretty flush to the top. I figured that I would have to mount the PJ the best part of 45cm from the ceiling which was unacceptable given the fan noise would be right above the seating. Yes, lack of lens shift a real problem with this PJ. A real shame.

Cheers for reply's would you have any alternative's projector suggestions i coulld get away with with my ceiling heights, this is all getting frustrating as i was set on the hd72. and i got cash burning in my pocket.
Cheers again
talcy

talcy said:
Cheers for reply's would you have any alternative's projector suggestions i coulld get away with with my ceiling heights, this is all getting frustrating as i was set on the hd72. and i got cash burning in my pocket.
Cheers again
talcy

The HS60 is going for a bargin price at empire direct if it helps, I'm in the process of trying to chocie between the two here with not much joy, so looking on the up side, at least you have one less choice to make! ;)