1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD2: is it worth the extra?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Nick Peacock, Mar 24, 2004.

1. Nick Peacock

Nick Peacock

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my first time, so be gentle with me if I ask a naive question. I want to watch DVDs with the quality I get on my PC. I don't mind how I do it, but I don't think it will be with a TV or plasma.

Will an HD2 DLP PJ fed from whatever source is necessary do that, or will a lower resolution PJ still show me everything that's on a good DVD? I don't think there's a simple answer to the question, but I'm sure this is the right place to ask it.

Cheers, Nick

2. RTFM

RTFM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Screen size and distance you will sitting from the screen will have an effect on the answer to your question.
    If you want to sit close to a big image then the HD2 chip projectors will be a better choice than Matterhorn based units if your budget runs to it. Screen structure when sitting close will be less noticeable with HD2 than Matterhorn.
    If you sit say 2x screen widths away you will probably be happy with the lower resolution.

3. Nick Peacock

Nick Peacock

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Jeff. I don't want to spend money for the sake of it, but I doubt I would be satisfied without an HD2 projector. If I did take that route, would I see a better picture sitting 2x SW away from a projection screen than I would sitting 2x SW away from a TV?

Nick

4. RTFM

RTFM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sitting 2x SW from a TV you will see horizontal scan lines big time and you will get fatigue/eyestrain as your eye muscles have to work harder focussing on close objects.