1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD1 programming

Discussion in 'TVs' started by museumsteve, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    Sent them an email saying I was a little concernedthat it was due to launch tomorrow and nothing was showing on programme schedule..here's the reply :)

    "The new site is being built and finished at this very moment. You should be able to surf and read very soon.

    But fans deserve a scoop:

    Schedule for 1/9

    20:00 CET Tall ship’s Race

    20:30 CET Urban Wild: Paris (wildlife doc)

    21:30 CET: First part of the Huricane Rock Festival in Bremen with a.o. The Hives, The Cure, Gentleman and the Far East Band


    2/9: a.o. French championships mountainbike and Chicago Auto Show

    3/9: a.o. Heavyweight Heroes: Boxing night, almost 3 hours of boxing games (with even women fighting) and concert of PJ Harvey.

    4 and 5/9: LIVE!!! LG Super Racing Weekend from Imola

    4/9 as well: Hurrican Festival part II with a.o. David Bowie (last concert of his world tour)



    and much more



    Check it out on HD 1 from tomorrow on.



    Kind regards,



    Anouk van Hoofstadt

    Director of Programs Euro1080 "
     
  2. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Mmm ... nice. PJ Harvey boxing, got to be worth the price of entry ;)

    Am just about to get this all setup using a DVB-S card in my PC. Anyone know if this encrypted HiDef content can be archived to disc (assuming you've got a CI Module and a suitable card) ?

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  3. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nice one Museumsteve.
    Carl, I use Hauppauge Nova CI ( aka TechnoTrend budget)which records OK to HDD

    Jim
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    Right, can I just get this cleared up once and for all. What are the options for viewing Euro1080 (encrypted) on a PC? Would I be right in thinking the options are the Hauppage Nova CI with irdeto 2 cam and a Euro1080 card or the new Skystar CI card with cam and card? Are they the only options? Where's the best place to get the Hauppage card from? Undecided whether to just go for a Qualitv STB as I'm sure it will be less hassle but it's quite a bit more expensive than the PC route. I assume a P4 2.8Ghz will be good enough? I'm getting stuttering with 1080i TS files which is why I ask, find that odd as the CPU is only at 50% odd as well....

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  5. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Andy,
    The SkyStar 1 CI is not finalised or verified yet.
    The Hauppauge Nova CI (aka TechnoTrend budget) along with Irdeto2 and Euro1080 card works fine with Encrypted Euro1080. I have been using this since May. There are a few limitations ( see my post in this forum http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=144615 )
    I just learned today that software updates are only a few weeks away.
    There may be other PC solutions that I am not aware of.
    P4 2.8 should be OK, I once set it up on a P4 3.0 and there was plenty of power to spare.
     
  6. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Last noobie question (promise ;)) ... where can I buy the CAM & cards ? Preferably from a site that doesn't look like it should be flying the Jolly Roger on it's frontpage ;)

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  7. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
  8. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    Where's a good place to get the Hauppage Nova CI from?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  9. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    lol, crossed messages! Anywhere based in the UK then? Another question, where does the CI module go, I've got an Accent HTPC case with no spare driver bays that are accessible, is that going to be a problem?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  10. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    You can get the Euro1080 card from the same place as the cam.. sateuropa.. Look under HDTV, official smartcards

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  11. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Thanks, was looking under the regular smartcards (doh!). And I'd seen your earlier post pointing people to it.

    BTW, I reckon the CI module is on a PCI card - so it goes in a slot. Either a 2nd slot (for that Nova CI), or same slot as the card for the forthcoming one.
     
  12. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    So the Nova CI needs 2 PCI slots and the Skystar CI just takes up one? Another thing to bear in mind

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  13. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Andy the second card has no connections to the PCI slot just a 50 way connector to the first card so you might be able to rig it up somehow although the cable is very short. There is also an expensive option which replaces the second card it is a CAM slot which fits in a floppy drive bay leaving the card at the front of the PC.

    Jim
     
  14. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    I haven't got a floppy drive bay! Just one bay for the dvd rom drive, that's all that's accessible at the front. Is a fix for the ac3 passthrough problem definitely on the cards then for the Technotrend budget i.e. is it an acknowledged problem that they're working on?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  15. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    I emailed Sateuropa about the Skystar CI Card, I was advised to sign up to the mailing list as "There WILL be an announcement this week about the Skystar". So I signed up!! It's nice that Euro1080 do take the time to reply.

    How many people here are considering the Skystar CI Card out of interest?
     
  16. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,763
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,932
    I am for one...

    Andy
     
  17. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    You would think being the 1st day of actual service, that the Euro1080 website would have been ready as well!!. I just went to it, to check out the program listings and there's nothing.

    Or am I missing something?
     
  18. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    It does make you wonder what sort of service we have paid for ( via the card ) if they cannot even publish a programme guide.
    So what is being shown at moment (am at work and not home till Thursday evening)?
     
  19. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    At the moment they are showing Antwerp proms un-encrypted with the new logo. Just before that they showed trailers of the LG car racing and scheduled times on Sept 4 & 5th.

    Jim
     
  20. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as I'm concerned it looks as though they're not fully ready to go "live" with encrypted material yet. Although 140 is a fair price for 5 yrs subscription, the lack of a programme line isn't helping to get the punters knocking at their door is it?

    I just hope they're happy for dealers to be their main avenue for marketing the channel - if they're anything like our dealer though, they're going to have a tough time!! Our's has a QualiTV box but it isn't even set up - the assistant said they can't get the sat dish in a good position!! (Even if they had, they only had the box connected to mini LCD - not exactly hardware to show the channel off is it!!!)
     
  21. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
  22. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks again Museumsteve, They set up a new site and no link.
    Did anybody look at the Astra HD channel this evening. I just tuned in for a minute before 7 and there was some great new material on. I am recording the Tall Ships Race now so I can't say what's going on there. There seems to be a bit of competition. Great.

    Jim
     
  23. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    I think the new site opens automatically from old site.
    I'll have to check out the Astra channel :)
     
  24. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    I think the new site opens automatically from old site.
    Just had a peek at Astra channel and there's an Antartic Expedition programme on..looks great.
    You wait all this time then it all starts to happen :) (maybe that's a little presumptious thinking though)
     
  25. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    the loop (and pretty big loop it is) on Astra HD channel is from Voom, I wonder if there's a hint it may come to Europe (can but hope)

    http://www.voom.com/index.jsp
     
  26. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Museumsteve was that an arctic expedition, it just came around again which would make the loop about an hour long.

    Jim
     
  27. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    On the Astra channel credits the "European HD Forum" was mentioned, I wonder who they are or if they are related to the French HD Forum.
    Did you ever think you would see yourself flicking back and forth through HD channels.

    Jim
     
  28. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    yes mate, not bad for a loop :)
    I've already sent Voom an email, cos you never know
     
  29. Abstrakt

    Abstrakt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    Yes, but hell would have to freeze over before that could happen. ;) Voom is an HD enthusiast’s dream come true because it is a satellite package dedicated to high def channels.

    Those channels however consist of the HD versions of all the major US networks (NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, PBS) and cable channels (Discovery, Bravo, ESPN, etc…) -- none of which can broadcast in Europe due to the usual international rights issues. The same thing applies to the premium and PPV channels available on Voom.

    The only things that Voom could bring to Europe would be their “Voom Originals” which are basically eye-candy channels, like Euro1080 is forever doomed to be. And even in this situation you might run into some rights issues.

    Sadly high definition doesn’t change the rules regarding international TV rights. Maybe ten years from now we might get localized (read: watered down ;)) European versions of channels such as Discovery-HD or Bravo-HD, much like we do now in standard definition; but that’s as far as it goes.

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...