1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD Via Satellite Now

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by RyanK, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38
    I currently have satellite access to Hotbird 13 East, Astra 19.2 And 28.2.

    If i were to buy a FTA HD box NOW, what would i receive?
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. ColdKilla

    ColdKilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19
    Does this mean there is something on Sky already a demo or something?

    CK
     
  4. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    I saw that too, probably only a placeholder for now as there wasn't a link on that page.
     
  5. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +770
    Sky and the BBC are both running HD tests/loops at 28.2/28.5 AIUI.

    Both are using MPEG4 not MPEG2 for video - and AIUI Sky are using DVB-S2 not DVB-S.
     
  6. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,884
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +83
    Can this be picked up on a skystar 2 or is that just MPEG2?

    Wht is the differnce between S and S2. Are there any current receivers that can decode this.

    I have just modded and recommissioned my gregorian motorised dish after being stuck on one satellite for 2 years since the motor went so would like to see as much HD material as possible

    cheers
    Darren
     
  7. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +770
    In theory a budget DVB-S card will be able to receive MPEG2 and MPEG4 video carried via DVB-S - as it is the PC that decodes the video, not the card. There have been people reporting various levels of success decoding MPEG4 with VLC or the Elecard stack.

    However if they are using DVB-S2 this won't work, as it is a different actual modulation system compared to DVB-S - the data is encoded on the RF carriers using a different technique. AIUI there are no current DVB-S2 PC cards widely available.
     

Share This Page

Loading...