HD tv v Freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Jafferolli, Aug 7, 2005.

  1. Jafferolli

    Jafferolli
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told on Friday that when HD TV come out, our freeview boxes wont be any good ! is this true even though I have an HD TV ready set ? or does this mean buying another set top box ! :eek:
     
  2. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    If you lare happy with freeview, your freeview box will continue to work just as well as it does now. If you would like high def and are prepared to pay a premium rate monthly subscription, then you can use Sky HD service, in which case, your freeview box will still work for freeview, but for HD you will need to get an additional Sky HD box too.

    -Ian
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Yup, Freeview in its present format does not support HDTV. For HD you will need a new Sky HD box and dish.
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    High Def content will be broadcast on Freeview at some stage - and your current Freeview box/IDTV tuner will not be compatible with that. However it is probably at least 5 years away and all you'll need is a new set-top box.
     
  5. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally I think streaming HDTV over broadband will be available before HDTV on freeview will start. We've already got 8meg connections whereas not so long ago you only got 512k, so another few years and you'll be able to get the bandwidth for HDTV.

    Richie.
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Just out of curiosity Richie, are you a tennis fan?
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Hmmm...... 8M maybe in the centre of towns - I'm lucky to have 2M out here in the sticks. HDTV is quite "bandwidth hungry" - I'm not sure if people who live out of town will see it any time soon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...