1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'HD' through component???

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by reklor, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,020
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +189
    Hi just a quick question - Can any of the latest 'psuedo HD' players such as the samsung 945/panny/denon output the HD features through the component conection? or is it hdmi/dvi only?

    Many thanks :)
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    I was under the impression it was DVI (HDCP compliant) or HDMI only.
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    From reading threads on this forum I believe the Samsung 745/945 can upscale via YUV component once the multiregion hack has been done.

    Mark.
     
  4. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,020
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +189
    Tejstar- Thats exactly what I thought...........but mark has just thrown a spanner into my balls! Does anyone have anymore info on this please? I checked Samsungs website but nowt :( Cheers..
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    Well my 745 should be delivered in the morning (if Parcelfarce get their fingers out :devil: ) and I'll then connect it up to my LCD and try it out. So if nobody else has confirmed it before then I can at least let you know first hand.

    Mark.
     
  6. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    momitsu V880 models can upscale through component - currently doing 720p@60hz into our Pio 433MXE - yummy :)

    Gary
     
  7. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,020
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +189
    Cheers Mark. Neal......anymore info on your player? Price and where you got it from?......cheers bud
     
  8. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sansung will upscale through component at all res's after hack.
     
  9. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Can confirm this, i've just been trying it!...PJ
     
  10. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually bought it of the forums, but they are only available from the makers www.momitsu.nl cost is about £260 no import duties or UK VAT to pay as part of EU.

    The non-network version is about £200 or so delivered, check out the above link for costs.

    There was a non network version for sale on the forums recently - not sure if it sold or not.

    regards
    Gary
     
  11. ns1col

    ns1col
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm sure i read on the hd745 thread that there was 2 versions of firmware for the player and only 1 version would upscale over component after the region hack.

    edited for spelling :eek:
     
  12. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Though I don't want to put anyone off the 745 'cause as I say I've just bought one and I really like it....

    But to be honest the component out, whether upscaled or not, lags noticably behind the component performance of the Pio 575 in my experience. I know because I've got one sitting on top of the other and have been doing comparisons today. To be honest I actually prefer the 575's component performance over the 745's DVI - though the DVI performance on the Sammy is very good and there's not much in it.

    I know that it shouldn't be like this, but I'm viewing both on a 1280x720 projector so it should be a good test.

    If you are gonna go DVI at some stage then fine go with the 745, but if you are planning to stick with component go for the 575.

    ..PJ
     
  13. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,020
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +189
    thank you to everyone for the info.

    Off to have a think... :)
     
  14. simonthepieman

    simonthepieman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +12
    thed
    neil was talking about my momitsu V880 still for sale on classifieds i'll bump it up to the top
    today
    I have inc will it a dvi to vga adaptor
    simon
     
  15. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    PJ, very interesting comment on performance. May I ask you more details and ask you to confirm how you would rank the PQ of a non-upscaled interlaced PAL signal:

    - over component out on the Pio 575
    - over DVI out on the 745
    - over component out from a Tosh 340 (if you have experience/memory to rank this one as well)

    ?

    I am interested to find the best player for interlaced PAL over component in the £100-250 range.
     
  16. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    I think you will find that the vast majority of DVD players can only output a progressive signal over DVI/HDMI. AFAIK my Arcam DVD is one of the only/few players that can output an interlaced signal via HDMI/DVI. Having read through the manual (after installing it of course :D ) of my 745 today I can't recall seeing any mention of an interlaced output via DVI.

    Mark.
     
  17. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    As someone mentioned if it's DVI the Sammy only outputs progressive. But for interlaced component the Pio 575 is the way to go...PJ
     
  18. Maxi_TK96

    Maxi_TK96
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget 1080i which is being outputted by many.
     

Share This Page

Loading...