1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD screen res problems when using x800xt

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by avinitski, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +215
    im outputting a HD signal from my pc using an x800XT, my DLP TV supports 720p/1080i

    using ati software when i select 720p/1080i the screen ever so slightly doesnt fit on the TV, i have to manually decrease the resolution to 1184x672 for 720p

    is this normal? any way to have the full correct screen resolution?

    also now if i output a HD movie (1280x720 for 720p mode) wudnt this be degrading the quality slightly?
     
  2. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    I have a x800xtpe and have no such problem. Have you got a samsung 50' by any chance?

    Overscan is common on these DLP sets.
     
  3. indie24

    indie24
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    873
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +193
    if you have the sp50 you can get 0 overscan if you select pc as the output name and then press the resize button.

    hi razor :hiya:
     
  4. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498

    Indies :hiya: totally right. :smashin:
     
  5. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +215
    i have the RE-44SZ21RD

    not sure what overscan is.....is it bad? how do i know if my TV is overscan?
     
  6. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Is that an LG?
     
  7. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +215
    it is indeed
     
  8. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498

    :oops:

    How are you connecting the set up? I didnt think the LG had a DVI connection? :confused:
     
  9. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +215
    it has analog component, (YPbPr)

    so does this tv produce overscan? what ever that is lol

    anyone know why i have to slightly decrease resolution when running in 720p/1080i?

    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...