HD Resolution Output

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by colin45, Aug 5, 2006.

  1. colin45

    colin45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    What setting should be used for the HD Resolution Output on the Sky HD box and does it matter what TV is in use
     
  2. davybaker

    davybaker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'd set the HD output of the box to 1080i. Most if not all of SKY's HD content will be (or have been) filmed in that. Even if your screen is not a full 1920 by 1080 pixel layout it'll still look pretty good!
     
  3. colin45

    colin45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the quick answer I have a Sony X and have been using the Automatic setting, will 1080i be the best setting be for SD viewing as well
     
  4. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    With 1080i you don't get widescreen switching, so it really depends on how much 4:3 material you watch. Personally I think Automatic also gives a much better SD picture but it depends on the TV I guess... try both.
     
  5. colin45

    colin45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am a bit new to all this but on SD when I tried the Automatic setting (the resolution was set to I think 576p) the program planner was not very clear I tried it on 1080i and the planner was much clearer but I do not know if this is a good guide to use. It seems to me that depending on what program I watch the PQ. is different so I am having problems deciding which is best
     
  6. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    The planner is scaled to the resolution so isn't really a good way of comparing - you need to look at SD programming and see what you prefer.

    For me it's no contest since some of the channels that I watch (SciFi, Paramount Comedy) are not widescreen so 1080i simply won't work.
     
  7. btocher

    btocher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same position. I much prefer viewing widescreen, but I do watch some stuff that's 4:3 (CNN and some old TV series, for example). The automatic setting works just fine for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...