1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD Ready & PC Friendly 32" LCD's...?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by HSC, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    I am looking to buy a 32" LCD ASAP - however I want one that offers excellent quality and is also albe to display at or near its native resolution via a PC and any compatible connection (these sets are all 1366x768).

    If anyone can offer up any confirmations/advise - I would appreciate it
    Thanks



    Sagem HDL32T
    Approx. Price - £1160
    Comments - has PC input and should be PC friendly.....?


    Toshiba 32WLT58
    Approx. Price - £1199
    Comments - 2 HDMI inputs, does not appear to have any PC input anyone confirm...?


    JVC LT-32DS6
    Approx. Price - £1399
    Comments - has PC input (don’t know how friendly)


    Panasonic TX32LXD500
    Approx. Price - £1500
    Comments - does not appear to have any PC input, can anyone confirm...?


    Hitachi 32LD7200
    Approx. Price - £1199
    Comments - has VGA and DVI PC inputs - I have heard it is not too PC friendly though, anyone confirm.....
     
  2. kgreene

    kgreene
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    glad to hear you have the same requirements as me - I can't find any LCDs that say they support 1366X768 on a DVI input yet. The upcoming Philips 9830 spec says it should do but it is not released yet as far as I know.
     
  3. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got one of these and I can confirm that Native 1366x768 is reachable when connecting via VGA.

    I don't have a DVI output on my laptop graphics card, but have been told that with the help of power strip, you should be able to get 1360x768 at 1:1 pixel mapping.

    You might want to consider which Graphics card you're using aswell; the general consensus on this sites seems to suggest that NVidia cards (paired with the latest drivers) are much more friendly than ATI cards for use with LCD TVs over DVI.

    Ben
     
  4. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    thanks for that - I dont mind if it its VGA or DVI as long as I can get at, or as close to 1366x768.....

    So the Hitachi makes it onto the shorter shortlist....
     
  5. shaddow2005

    shaddow2005
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  6. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    thanks shaddow2005 - but I cant go over 32" due to size limitations
    and I want some picture processing and that rules out the Realsys (or the real reason could be that I am a brand snob...:)
     
  7. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    my SAMSUNG LE32R51B is running 1360x768 over VGA DSUB as we speak, and its pure filth i tell ya :devil: :thumbsup:


    and dont be dis-heartened thats is VGA and not DVI/HDMI, the picture is STUNNING, plus it leaves you HDMI free for another source. :smashin:
     
  8. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    mick - filth you say......best sales line i have ever heard..... :D
    but I cant find that set here - am I being silly...?
    http://www.samsung.co.uk

    and yes - VGA connection is fine by me
     
  9. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    hsc, no it aint on the samsung website, not sure why... although im sure the manual is (somewhere)

    but just for clarity

    LE32R41B(X)
    LE32R41BD(X)
    LE32R51B(X)
    LE32R51BD(X)

    the (X) is not always displayed in the model number for some reason

    B is analogue tuner
    BD is digital tuner
     
  10. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    yep - just found on the German website
    looks very nice - made it to the shorter shortlist.....thanks Mick


    any views on the other sets folks.....JVC, Tosh, Panny, Sagem....?
     
  11. TheBigK

    TheBigK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe the TX32LXD500 PC does have a VGA PC connection :clap:

    Anyone tested resolution?
     
  12. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    True, the picture quality on the Hitachi over VGA is also unbelievable, but connecting the screen via DVI or HDMI (the 7200 has both!) would make text pin sharp.

    With the 7200, you get 2 digital inputs instead of the standard 1.

    And no, I'm not a Hitachi representative ;)
    Ben
     
  13. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    but is it worth the extra £400 :cool:
     
  14. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    My ACER AT3201W outputs 1366 x 768 via DVI (HDCP) using an NVIDIA 6800 GO, in the latest drivers this resolution is available as standard, stunning PQ especially with PC games, a quality pece of kit for £799 inc. from DABS!
     
  15. kgreene

    kgreene
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that DVI being digital would mean you got much better quality especially for viewing PC screens than using VGA?
    Anyone comment on the screens mentioned above as to how the input selection works - I have seen people have frustrations where they turn on the set and have to wait ages for the PC input to be displayed as the set polls round all inputs before looking on DVI or VGA.
    I will be using the screen just for a media centre PC (including for TV) so want it to be as instant on as possible.
     
  16. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, if you factor in the superior connections, 12 months interest free credit, 3 years warranty and a free portable DVD player, you're paying about the same for the tv!

    In my opinion, the Hitachi represents real value for money!

    PQ is SUPERB, and I'm glad it doesn't suffer from the same shearing issues as the Samsung does when watching 720P content! :smashin:

    Ben
     
  17. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    credit - pah :thumbsdow
    warranty - nice :smashin:
    portable dvd - point? :thumbsdow
    shearing - no evidence of that on mine. :thumbsdow

    £400 pays for i nice long weekend in prague :thumbsup:

    :)
     
  18. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can be sold on Ebay.. it's worth £150-£200.

    The finance option was a must for myself, but then again probably could have got that for the samsung.

    I didn't wanna risk the whole shearing problem.

    How bout the extra digital port?

    And the (although a tad bit gimmicky) motorised stand?! :smashin: It's great fun for all of 2 minutes! ;)

    Ben
     
  19. fdrzrich

    fdrzrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +22
    Where did you get it from with 12 months interest free then? :confused: Have been loooking at the Samsung, mainly because of the price difference over the Hitachi, but I saw a 6200 in Richer sounds today and liked that, so.....
     
  20. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    anyone have the panny or the JVC yet...???
     
  21. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    www.av-euronics.co.uk

    A pleasure to deal with they were too! Highly recommended. :thumbsup:

    Ben
     
  22. kgreene

    kgreene
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most people wanting to connect a PC (using Media Centre etc.) seem to be looking at LCDs rather than Plasmas - is there a particular reason?
    I followed the crowd and started looking at all the 32 LCDs but still haven't seen one that doesn't suffer from blurring on fast moving images (waiting for the Philips 9830 maybe).
    I've read all the general Plasma Vs LCD stuff (took a while!) but is there anything specific to connecting a Media Centre PC via DVI that I should steer me to LCD rather than Plasma?
    Ta
    ken
     
  23. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well what size screen you looking at (I don't believe 32" plasmas really exist anymore..)?

    As a general rule 42" plasmas have lower screen resolutions than 32" LCDs... so if you buy a 42" plasma for use as a PC screen, you're gonna have to sit REALLY far away.. and the amount of space on your desktop would be rediculously low.

    If you're looking at 32" size, then LCDs are the ones for you. You're just gonna have to wait a bit longer for one to satisfy your criteria!

    Ben
     
  24. Glenagoolie

    Glenagoolie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    Regards the blurring on fast moving images on LCD's I'm worried about the same for playing xbox360 etc. Hence been looking for one with fast response times.
    The Sagem HDL32T has 10ms response time but I can't find a review offical or unoffical anywhere ?!?
     
  25. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    The response time is not the be all and end all of an LCD panel - the electronics driving the panel are as, if not more, important. Below 16 ms, the panel electronics will play more of a role in defining the quality of images displayed, esp. movement trailings.
     
  26. Bolf

    Bolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The Deepings
    Ratings:
    +37
    Be sure to check out the LG RZ32 lcd screens in Richer Sounds at 999
     
  27. kgreene

    kgreene
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ben - thanks for info.
    I'm looking at 32" LCD or 37" Plasma - picture quality much more important than size for me. Seems if I want 1366 X 768 though I need a bigger plasma (50") and still can't find one that will do PC input at 1366X768.
    Why do they never make exactly what I want :confused:
     
  28. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    just thought I would let you guys know
    after several views I decided on the Toshiba 32WL56

    set it up last night and it gave me 1360x768 straight away - and I will try some advance timings later that are available in the new Forceware drivers

    pic is superb (esp Hi Def)


    best bit - only £810....!
     
  29. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the JVC LT-32DS6 - the PC input is "friendly" but restricted to 1024x768... I've had my laptop plugged in and used it for various tasks including playing games like UT2004 and BF2, which work very well and I noticed no issues with the fast moving stuff. (My laptop has an ATI 9700 graphics thingy).
     
  30. brakepad

    brakepad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The main thing that has steered me towards LCD rather than plasma for an HTPC is the pixel aspect ratios that you tend to get with plasmas. Apart from the standard 852x480 16:9 (which is poor resolution even for SDTV) the vast majority will require some kind of scaling of the PC image in order to fit the screen.

    Cases in point are the Hitachi 32PD5200 which was something like 852x1024 on a 16:9 screen(!) and even the fancy Pioneer PDP-505XDE 50" which is 1280x768 i.e. a 15:9 pixel resolution on a 16:9 screen. As far as I can see there is no way to drive these at the correct aspect without the screen having to do some scaling - not necessarily a problem but it's not going to make the quality any better!

    Other HTPC related plasma issues would be the potential for screen burn.

    Tell me about it! The number of LCD screens that won't take PC over HDMI/DVI at native resolution (and combine it with good PQ, removable speakers, digital tuner and sensible price) is ridiculous.
     

Share This Page

Loading...