HD player to DVD question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by steveenduro, Mar 8, 2006.

1. steveenduro

steveenduro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All.
    I'm relatively new to video processing/editing and have a question regarding compatibility.
    I have copied some old 8mm camcorder footage to the HD on my Toshiba RDSX32. I wish to do some very basic editing and copy it to DVD. I have a pc with DVD-RAM capability. I am thinking of copying my footage to DVD-RAM on the Toshiba, saving it to hard disk on my PC, then editing and burning onto DVD-R or DVD-RAM. Is this possible? I'm unsure of the formats involved.
    Is this the best way to accomplish this, or should I struggle along and edit on the Toshiba and then burn directly to disk on this machine rather than pc?

Any help appreciated.

2. steveenduro

steveenduro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All.
    I'm still struggling with this one.
    I've now transferred some 8mm video onto my Toshiba rdsx32 recorder hard disk.
    It is DVD-VR format. I would like to be able to transfer it to my pc for editing, but I am stuggling to do this. Windows Movie Maker does not recognise it.
    Any thoughts?
    Cheers.

3. felix2

felix2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +40
    Hi!

Yes, you can do basic editing (cutting and splicing) on the Tosh hard disk (although you might get a slight pause at splice points), and burn it onto DVD-R (or -RW or -RAM).

But you're right, you'll be able to do more with your editing by transferring it onto the PC (via either a DVD-RAM or DVD-RW). The video will be MPEG2 format. To get Windows Movie Maker to recognise that they are MPEG files, you may have to rename the .VOB files (in the VIDEO_TS folder) as .MPG, although I think some people have had problems getting the sound to work. Also, WMM will not save the video back to MPEG nor burn a DVD.