1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hd over a 1024x768 panel??

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by hughesy, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. hughesy

    hughesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Irish in Oz
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sorry to sound dumb, but i'm a little confused....

    There are a few plasma and LCD panels out there that have a panel with 1024x768 pixels on it. Yet it states that it is "HD Ready" My example is the Panny TH42pv50.

    i understand that if the signal is 720p it could cope, but how would it be able to display a 1080i signal with only 1024 horizontal pixels??? :confused: :confused:

    Thanks 4 your help!! :smashin:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well 1024 is the number of pixels in each row and 768 the number in each column a 720p signal is actually 1280x720 and a 1080i signal is 1920x1080 so the displays need to scale the source video to map it to the pixel display hence why good scaling is better than loads of pixels, Video resoluion of all fixed pixel (basically none CRT) is never going match so scaling will occur...................hope this helps
     
  3. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    It will still show the signal, but the current generations of Plasmas and LCDs (except for the very expensive/large ones) simply won't show all the possible detail.

    The panel needs 720 lines minimum to be classed as HD Ready.
     
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    My plasma is also 1024X1024. Yet if I conect my PC to it I can set the resolution as high as 1600X1200.
    I can also use my Denon 3910 which scales the picture to 1080i, and even my XBox or PS2 set to 720p with those few games that use it.

    These sets are designed to show HD and it looks good. As long as you have the propper conections you should be fine.

    Of course in the future I will be getting a new display that supports higher resolutions, but for the moment (and for the last year since I got the plasma) its fine!
     
  5. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    If your plasma is 1024x1024 then even if you can feed it with a higher resolution - say 1600x1200 - you won't see the full resolution of the feed, and your display will be scaling it. It may well look nice and sharp (as a result of the oversampling effect of feeding it with a high resolution source and scaling) - though.
     
  6. hughesy

    hughesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Irish in Oz
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks alot guys!!! :thumbsup:
     
  7. as

    as
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    can u use a crt monitor with a 2048 1440 res to watch 1080p .on a compter . sorry for bein stupid
     
  8. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    1080p has a 16:9 resolution of 1920x1080, so will display in full resolution letterboxed on a 1920x1440 4:3 display - if your CRT supports it...
     
  9. as

    as
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    thanks :clap:
     
  10. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +410
    If a plasma is 1024x1024 is it using 16x9 pixels or is it a square plasma!?
     
  11. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Well if it is a 16:9 plasma then it is using 16:9 shaped pixels, if it is 4:3 then the pixels will be 4:3 shaped!

    AIUI they are 16:9 panels - and I think the 1024x1024 ones are ALiS technology - that uses some strange interlaced-like scanning to create 1024 lines out of two 512 line scans?
     
  12. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +410
    I thought normally a 1280x720 pixel panel (for example) would use square pixels to create the 16x9 image. If the 16x9 ratio of pixels also used 16x9 pixels then the shaped would be wider and thinner than it should be, would it not? Hence it seems unusual to have a square ratio and 16x9 pixels...
     
  13. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Plasma technology is a bit weird. My plasma is 16:9 and yet is 1024X1024. It is in fact an "Alis" panel which i think is japanese technology.

    All I know is that at the end of the day I can watch a hi def picture and even though it is a scaled picture it looks amazing.

    I can use any hi def capable product including my denon 3910 and my XBox and PS2. Also in Japan we already have hi def TV and ive been enjoying it for the last couple of years.

    Even if my plasma doesnt support the necesary high resolutions needed for hi def sources, it CAN still display those sources and they look good enough to my eyes.

    Like i said before, I do care about the fact that we do need a propper 1920X1080 panel to enjoy the full resolution of HD, but untill I get a new TV, Im happy with what I have.
     

Share This Page

Loading...