1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hd On Laptop

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by blp21, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How powerful a laptop do I need to play HD clips when it is connected to a HDTV(Panasonic TX-32LXD500) through the dvi slot.
     
  2. amorenod

    amorenod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
  3. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok but would a 2GHz laptop work ok
     
  4. amorenod

    amorenod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Slightly underpowered, even for minimum config. What about memory and the graphics card?
     
  5. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1gb memory and 128mb graphics card it is the acer ferrari 4005
     
  6. bbdivo

    bbdivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Best thing to do, download a clip and see if it works! :thumbsup:
     
  7. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have not yet bought it are there any other laptops more powerful
     
  8. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the ferrari 4005 has a AMD Turion ML37 Processor 2.0GHz
     
  9. crazyswede

    crazyswede
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it is a Pentium M Processor, then I think it should be powerful enough. If its the 2ghz one it would be equivalent to a desktop Pentium 4 at around 3.4 ghz.

    I have not tried HD on mine yet, I might try...
     
  10. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    AMD Turion ML37 Processor 2.0GHz
     
  11. amorenod

    amorenod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    If I'm not mistaken, 37 is for Turion what 3700+ is for Athlon, so yes, the ferrari 4005 is ready for the task.
     
  12. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you explain in simpler language please and are you sure i do not want to buy it and find out it cannot do this task
     
  13. amorenod

    amorenod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    It means that the Turion ML37 is similar in power to a Pentium 4 3,7 Ghz. Marketing aside, looks like the Ferrari 4005 is more than adequate to run HD videos.
     
  14. chowells

    chowells
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Turion is a mobile Athlon 64 chip so I'd be highly surprised if it didn't do the job with ease.
     
  15. blp21

    blp21
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help any other information we be good
     

Share This Page

Loading...