HD - My Verdict - HORRIBLE!

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by stumpywalnut, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have given it 2 weeks to make sure my initial reaction wasn't an overreaction - now I know I REALLY dont like it.

    Not the HD programmes - they're very nice - all 4 of them that Ive watched.
    Films look sharp, Football IS fantastic, BBC Demos look nice and Sky1 HD is an improvement.

    I dont watch programmes BECAUSE they are HD, I watch a programme I want to watch and enjoy the fact that it looks that much better than I am used to.
    The HD channels are so few and when you consider how many programmes on these few channels I am actually interested in - I dont get to watch much HD at all.
    - This I could deal with.

    What I am REALLY, REALLY disappointed with is how bad the SD channels look in comparison to the Sky+ that Ive just taken out and moved upstairs.
    - these make up probably 90% of my viewing.

    I have a PW7 which was run through QED component cables via a JS Tech box into the VGA input - and I was very happy with the pictures thank you very much.
    Now I run component from the HD box into the panel (via a QED component cable) and its a good deal worse than I had before.

    Last night I connected both the component and VGA inputs to see if I prefered to watch SD programms via the VGA input as I had previously - nope, thats horrible too.

    My conclusion - the HD box is set up for exactly that - showing HD pictures, and while there are still SD channels they will look WORSE than your old analogue box.

    My eyes, my opinion.
     
  2. Bachstrad

    Bachstrad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +262
    Maybe your connections too?

    SD channels received via the Sky HD box are greatly improved here via HDMI and at 1080i.

    ATB

    Max
     
  3. morgs

    morgs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Blimey, sorry to hear that mate.

    I can't say I've found the same, but then again I went the whole hog and bought an LCD tv and HD box the same (ish) time, and I'm still in that fuzzy warm glow stage, where SD is miles better on a better TV and HD??? Well roast my crunchy parsnips..............

    Are you sure that you're not having a HD come-down? I get a little bit, when I choose to watch something in SD. I always end up thinking "Cor, I wish this was in HD"
     
  4. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,213
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +320
    I find that the PQ via HDMI is improved slightly on SD channels - but then I was using RGB scart on my original Pace 3100 Sky+

    Maybe down to you connections?
     
  5. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not a connectivity thing.
    As I said, I had both connections - component and via the JS box running at the same time - both were poop.

    As for buying a new TV to go with the box - thing is you WILL enjoy it more as the screen is 'better' (/different) so you cant compare to what was there before.

    Id just assume SKY are using less bandwidth to broadcast the SD channels - maybe cos its taken up by the HD ones, maybe (if I was into conspiracy theories) so the HD looks even better in comparison.....
     
  6. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,213
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +320
    That is definately the real problem with SKY HD!!

    You watch all that dandy chocolate box HD glory, then when going back to the fog that is SD - you feel like bloody well switching it off!
     
  7. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,213
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +320

    :) I may even believe that of Sky, if it wasn't for the fact that they are broadcasting off of so many transponders - and hi def is only on for what seems like 1/2 hour a day!! :D

    Early days I guess ....
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Perhaps anyone who is paying to watch only 4 HD programmes in two weeks should reconsider the costs involved:)


    That aside are the SD channels still poor when the box is set to AUTO and if they are then use the RGB scart instead, should be pretty much identical to the old picture then.
    SKY only control their own channels so can't cripple other broadcasters and well with 8million SD subscribers and 100,000 HD subscribers does anyone think that SKY think their SD subscribers will spend an extra £400+ or just cancel and go to Freeview/Cable/Freesat:)
     
  9. 5m1_tty

    5m1_tty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have found the SKY SD programmes to look great on my display - compared to my older pace Sky+ box
    Two pints on beeb3 and Starship troopers the other night looked mighty fine. On the old pace box, it all looked a bif undefined, with expanses of undetailed colour.

    Agree with you on the HD content though - not many programmes worth watching yet - hope Xmas TV makes up for it. Sick of learning stuff from History channel just because it's HD and hardly anything else is.
     
  10. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,213
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +320
    I think some broadcasters do a good enough job of that without any input from Sky ... :)
     
  11. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not about comparing HD to SD.
    Box is set to auto - I apprecaite that things will look different.

    Im no scientist/boffin but I work for a video company and spend all day 'looking' at things, its my job to get the best quality from whatever the source material I am given.
    I know what 'bad connections' will do to a picture, I also know when something is softer and noisier than something else:)

    This is purely a comparison of picture quality between 2 different sources.
    1 IS worse than the other (in SD obv).

    Im not saying this will be the case for everyone, just that in my case with the analogue box SD channels looked sharper than they do now, with less noise, pixelation and blocking.
     
  12. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    Ah, thought we were talking about comparing SKY Digital to SKY HD, analogue being uncompressed does tend to look good albeit in a 4:3 way:)
     
  13. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    apologies - I was talking about my old SKY+ box compared to the new HD one.
     
  14. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975




    Perhaps it's the de-interlacing of the STB that is causing the problem when set to AUTO. Did you use RGB scart to VGA convertor on the previous SKY+ or something else to get the 576i into the PW7?
     
  15. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SKY+ = Scart (QED) to JS Tech Box, VGA (Van Damme) to VGA input on panel.

    HD = Component (QED) to Component input on panel.
    HD box set to Auto.


    Im not saying Sky+ was fantastic, Im just saying that in comparison SD channels were sharper and less noisy.
    The HD gives 'ok' SD pics, and I dare say if I hadnt had the previous set up Id be happy.
    But I did and Im not.
     
  16. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    No issue then, comparing the two boxes using the same type of output and the old box was better for 90% of your viewing does make your decision pretty understandable.
    It's also perfectly reasonable for the HD box to have slightly different internal components which affect the RGB out, many people say they see a difference when swapping digiboxes or upgrading to standard SKY+.

    It's a shame HD coverage isn't wide enough to compensate for your viewing but I hopes that in time it will be so cancelling and getting your money back is for you the bet thing to do. Later this year perhaps next year the situation may be different and it could be worth looking into to again:)
     
  17. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Despite what I do for a living, Im not 'anal' about watching the goggle box at home.
    If it was a bit worse Id put it down to a different cable or summat, enjoy the occasional HD film and call it evens.

    But the pictures are so soft at times they are almost blurred.
    I realise some channels are worse than others, but when its BBC3 thats looking so soft that Mrs S comments - then I know its not just me.
     
  18. jimborae

    jimborae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +109
    I've read quite a few posts that component output on the Sky HD box is pants, haven't tried it myself yet though. SD over HDMI to the panel is very, very good for me on channels that have a decent amount of bandwith. Much better than my old Pace Sky+ with a QED RGB to Comp convertor
     
  19. Billy Hunt

    Billy Hunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Worksop
    Ratings:
    +98
    I'll second that

    I was so mightly impressed with the improvement in SD quality that I wouldn't dream of going back to a none HD box now.
    Some of the high bit rate SD channels look amazing
     
  20. pwood

    pwood
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Central Scotland
    Ratings:
    +178
    My Panny PV500 plasma has freeview built in and a dedicated aerial feed. SKY HD box is set to auto and both my wife and I reckon the SKY HD box output is noticebly sharper and colours more focused. Using HDMI connection.
     
  21. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont doubt that over HDMI there is no issue.

    But, as said originally, in MY case SD channels are FAR worse.
    As its an older panel I dont have the HDMI option.
    - However, some claim that HD can look better (via component) on these panels than newer ones.
    Its just the crap SD (that makes up 90% of what I watch) more than outweighs the benefit of having the occasional enjoyment of a good HD prog.

    I never said everyone would find this, its just MY experience.
     
  22. infinite_loop

    infinite_loop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Urgh, that master of Starship Troopers the other night was horrible, much below Five's usual standard. It was 4:3, washed out and looked like it had been duped via 1" tape.
     
  23. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha - 1" is ok - as long as its a first generation!!
    Its the dubs, of dubs, of dubs.....that they 'used' to broadcast from thats the problem....
     
  24. CFC1

    CFC1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    15,883
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +4,250
    I must say that SD is better on the plasma connected to the HD box in the living room, as are the other TV's. But when watching an HD channel, the picture on the plasma in the kitchen is terrible, as are the other TV's in the house.
     
  25. infinite_loop

    infinite_loop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    it definitely had a "I have been composite video at some point" look about it...
     
  26. itssph

    itssph
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had a Pace V3 Sky+ hooked up via Scart to Sagem 50" DLP (via expensive RGB only Scart cable)

    Got the new Thomson hooked up via HDMI.

    There is no comparison - the HD box definitely does a better job on the SD. That's a like for like comparison using the same display. To be honest that on it's own is almost worth the extra tenner a month! :)
     
  27. thewul

    thewul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    stumpywalnut

    i think its to do with the thomson box's mpeg2 processing. over the years pace have perfected their mpeg2 processing in sky and sky+ boxes ( i believe the pic on my v3 box is much better than the v1 i had ) and have it down to a fine art. thomson do not have the same experience in this field as pace and i think this is why the SD pic quality is suffering
     
  28. cartel

    cartel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine's the exact opposite, SD looks sharper with less noise via HDMI on my HD box than did my Pace Sky+ through RGB scart.
     
  29. Shimmyhill

    Shimmyhill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +24
    Take the box out of auto if using component. SD looks terrible on component if the box is set to auto. I have a PHD6 and it was so bad i was using scart - vga box to plasma for SD and component for HD. This was a pain as you had to flick between imputs dependng on whether it was a HD or SD channel. I have the box set to 1080i and just use component no - SD looks much better than wheh its set to auto (not quite as good as scart - vga) Have added a bit of sharpness aswell.

    Whatever you do get it out of auto for component !
     
  30. stumpywalnut

    stumpywalnut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Auto setting - Ive posted a question on here as well as tested for myself.
    Auto seems better (well, if not better then certainly no worse) than selecting 1080 - on this panel anyway.

    In auto the panel does the scaling, set to 1080 the box does - and isnt as good at it - in my (and others) opinion.

    I will however have another check - thanks.

    I think Starburst and thewul have hit nails on heads in posts above.
    Thanks chaps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...