HD Is the picture really any better?

never-right

Novice Member
Hi

Its been a while since I worked in the TV trade, so perhaps other have more experience than me.
HD-High Deffinition, it is obviously meant to give a better picture.
When I worked in the trade HD was just talked about, but I am under the impression that on a small CRT (less than 28") you cannot see any difference in picture quality.

Is this correct?

To me most CRT TVs, the picture looks perfect, so how can it be improved?
The large screens that are now sold may benefit from HD, but then again most LCD and plasma do not have the picture quality of a good CRT.

And do you have to pay extra for HD, from Sky or Freeview?

N :devil:

onkeh

Novice Member
Completely pointless to quote screen sizes unless stating viewing distance. The reason you can tell the difference between 640x480 and 1280x960 on a 17" monitor is because you're sitting a couple of feet from it.

Exactly the same with TVs, no sense whatsoever in getting HD on a 32" screen if you're going to be sitting 12 feet away.

never-right

Novice Member
People seem to think that you get a better picture on all sizes of TV, or are they just buying because of fashion or through ignorance.

Anyone want to inform the public?

N

onkeh

Novice Member
People seem to think that you get a better picture on all sizes of TV, or are they just buying because of fashion or through ignorance.

Anyone want to inform the public?

N
The picture will be better, but whether you're sitting close enough to see it is another matter.

never-right

Novice Member
Thanks for your replies, but no-one else seems to want to comment.
I am a little sceptical, I assume that the bigger the picture the more effect you will see, so when you get a smaller picture - at some point there will be no difference.

N

Ian J

Banned
The CRT forum isn't as busy as it once was which is hardly a surprise on what is supposedly a technology forum.