HD from my xbox, what cable?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by rb5201, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. rb5201

    rb5201
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +220
    Hi I currently have my xbox connected to my amp via component but want to get the best from it as I am soon to be upgrading to a HD tv. As its an older xbox whats the best way to do this, I would also want to keep the optical cable going to xbox to keep the sound.
    Think the cable has had its day now as Im currently having to use the red and white phono plugs for sound, and I have tested the optical cable annd thats fine. Any one else had this problem??
     
  2. cassius76

    cassius76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +47
    Get the Official VGA cable. This has an input for an optical cable built in. The inputs for a VGA cable on Amps / TV's are normally called "DVI" ports.

    The VGA cable will support full 1080p
     
  3. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,881
    VGA and DVI connections are different and if your TV only have a DVI socket then you will have to use an adapter, assuming the socket will accept an analogue signal.
     
  4. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    VGA will support 1080p, but your tv probably wont. Not many tvs in the UK support 1080p via vga or component.

    What size is your tv? If its not over 40" you wont really tell any difference from 720p to 1080p. Personally id stick with component 720p or 1080i, until you need a new xbox then get one with hdmi port.
     
  5. rb5201

    rb5201
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +220
    It will be played on a panny pz80, 42"
     
  6. cassius76

    cassius76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +47
    I sit corrected :thumbsup:

    Sorry to add to the confusion. I honestly thought is was the same thing.

    But.. yes..


    this is a DVI

    [​IMG]




    This is a VGA

    [​IMG]

    Some TV backs look like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. RandomLee

    RandomLee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Just check my IP address
    Ratings:
    +2,948
    Since it's an older Xbox it probably wont have HDMI so VGA is you best bet if your new TV has a VGA (PC) socket.

    My 360 is non-HDMI too so cant comment on how that looks, but there's a definate improvement in VGA over Component on my particular TV. It looks a lot sharper with nicer colours (especially when set to Expanded in the 360s display settings).

    VGA FTW :smashin:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  8. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    VGA defo if you have a 42"

    If you have cash to splash, why not trade your xbox in at gamestation and get a HDMI Model, wouldnt thought it would cost much for a pre owned hdmi model
     
  9. Chrisoldinho

    Chrisoldinho
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +267
    Tbh one isn't better than the other. VGA is better on some TV's, Component on others.

    My Samsung LE32A457 running via Component is much better than via VGA.

    However my Toshiba 37X3030DB looked better by VGA.

    It depends on the TV, and how well it can deal with the signal. Personally I would look for the owners thread on here for your TV and see what others suggest as opposed to the opinions of people on a 360 forum who most likely have a different TV to you. Not that their opinion doesn't count :D but an owners thread will always be more specific than this forum and there will be hundreds of people who have asked the exact same question before I guarentee it!

    Chris.
     
  10. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,960
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,473
    I've got the same model (just about, got the PZ70 50") and IIRC the max resultion via component 1080i and VGA is 1024x768, so to be honest IMHO, I don't know why you'd switch from component. You may want t compare eacht hough, everyone's got a different opinion.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  11. daljsd

    daljsd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +9
    Best to try both if you have the cables to spare.

    The component connection you have (the Blue, Red & Green phono's) will give you good quality, 1080P.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  12. AdsterUK

    AdsterUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +81
    Definitely compare them. I get a much crisper, brighter image through VGA than I do though component, yet most people find (or found in the past) that VGA was washed out.
     
  13. cassius76

    cassius76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +47
    Vga 1080p looks amazing on my Samsung 40" LCD
     
  14. daljsd

    daljsd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +9
  15. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,960
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,473
    Guys, don't forget that 1080p is a no-go on his TV via component or VGA. It's a common problem, but really not that important as most games are only 720p anyway.
     
  16. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Id put my life savings on his tv not supporting 1080p via component.
     
  17. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,960
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,473
    It doesn't. Congratulations, you win your life savings!
     
  18. shagaboopon

    shagaboopon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +367
    I give you the man that would go all in at Hold Em with the nuts! It was always a very safe bet ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...