HD Freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by scotchgitt, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. scotchgitt

    scotchgitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried a search but couldn't find the answer.

    Is there going to be a way to get HD from a freeview source.

    Sky will no dought charge a fortune, Cable won't be much better but is there a different option.

    Can it be obtained through broadband? or an HD ready freeview box?

    thanks
     
  2. Jowl

    Jowl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    As I understand it (from asking a similar question on here) is that currently there isn't really enough capacity on Freeview to carry HD signals.

    When the analogue system is switched off, it should free up more capacity.


    Though I believe the BBC are trailing HD to the some London areas for the World Cup
     
  3. fabbers

    fabbers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
  4. RichardBoult

    RichardBoult
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Whats that decoding then?

    Is MPEG2 High Def?
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    I believe that is for satellite, it's a cut down version of the STB they supply for the German Premiere service. Judging from the serious lack of information (and I'm sure it is mpeg4) the product does not sit in their warehouse:)

    It's been mentioned over on DS.
     
  6. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +461
    Hi

    MPEG 2 can be high definition, however it is thought the trials by the BBC will use MPEG4 due to better compression.

    In fact it is widely rumoured that there will be a second switch off sometime after 2012 where Freeview will switch to MPEG4, making all the current boxes obsolete! This is so we can have lots more QuizCall, Bid TV etc type channels pushed at us while still freeing even more airspace for the government to sell off.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  7. mapryan

    mapryan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +461
    Hi

    I doubt it, it mentions nothing regarding support for MPEG4 which is most likely the format the BBC will use for high definition.

    A lot of existing Freeview boxes support MPEG2 at HD resolution, there is nothing special about that card. Maybe in America they get MPEG2 HD broadcasts, but I think it is unlikely to be MPEG2 over here.

    Regards

    Phil
     

Share This Page

Loading...