HD DVE on X360 drive

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by andyasb, May 3, 2007.

  1. andyasb

    andyasb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +12
    Anybody else getting problems with the new HD Digital Video Essentials disk? Always seem to lock up when I get to the video calibration screens....

    A
     
  2. swanny78

    swanny78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Matlock
    Ratings:
    +66
    yes its a known issue, will be fixed on the 7th May Xbox update
     
  3. Dogma21

    Dogma21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +16
    no it wasn't :mad:

    Apparently it will be in a seperate update, whenever that is released.
     
  4. -=Rob=-

    -=Rob=-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +46
    I'm having trouble getting hold of one of these HD DVE discs, can anyone point me in the right direction? They seem to be out of stock everywhere!
     
  5. Dogma21

    Dogma21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +16
    try the movietyme website, that's where I got mine from.

    At the moment I can't use it with 360 addon as the video calibration parts won't play.

    Hope the fix comes soon.
     
  6. Mojito

    Mojito
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have the same problem. Calibrations not working even after the spring update :mad:
     
  7. johnboy586

    johnboy586
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +53
    you have to wait for the HD DVD player update it's seperate entity from the Spring dashboard update. It will probably arrived on Tuesday / Wednesday next week
     
  8. Woottonite

    Woottonite
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there

    Glad to see i'm not the only one suffering with this problem, thought i had a dodgy disc. Strange that it seems to play the demonstration videos ok but not the calibrations. Weird.
     
  9. Turb007

    Turb007
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,436
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +693
    Its out now apparently :thumbsup: ..not home so cant try it yet

    from n4g.com

    An update offering a range of improvements to Xbox 360 HD DVD operations is now available over Xbox Live.
    Details of the auto update, which will install itself next time users log into Xbox Live, are listed below.

    Added option for user to select from the following audio output formats via TOSLINK or HDMI:

    o Digital Stereo (2 channel PCM)
    o Dolby Digital 5.1
    o DTS 5.1
    o WMA Pro


    Added "Dynamic Range Control" toggle for digital audio output
    Improved HD DVD networking support
    Improved HD DVD title compatibility
    Improved performance with MPEG-4 AVC / H.264
    1080p via HDMI is supported on the Xbox 360 Elite with HDCP compliant displays
    Improved parental controls
     
  10. Mojito

    Mojito
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, it's working now. :smashin:
     
  11. -=Rob=-

    -=Rob=-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +46
    How do you get the update from MS? I've had the latest dashboard update, but my DVE disc keeps freezing on the cal;ibration screen...
     
  12. Mojito

    Mojito
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow
    Ratings:
    +3
    Start playing HD-DVD while connected to Live! and it will tell you that there is an update for "this game".
     
  13. -=Rob=-

    -=Rob=-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +46
    Thanks, I'll give that a try later on today....
     
  14. horseflesh

    horseflesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +52
    Is the DVE disk really worth getting??
     
  15. Turb007

    Turb007
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,436
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +693
    I used it the other night and its ok for black / white levels and sharpness but way out for colour...you need special kit for greyscale and colour like the IFS guys use.

    It will get you in the right ballpark but once your there you'll be for ever tweaking.

    Personally I'm waiting for my 200 hours run in and then booking an IFS callibration
     
  16. horseflesh

    horseflesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +52

    Pardon my ignorance, but who are IFS??
    Do they call to your house to tweak your TV?
    And does it cost a fortune???
     

Share This Page

Loading...