1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD Download playback help!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Shooter1, Oct 13, 2005.

  1. Shooter1

    Shooter1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hi everyone

    I'm a complete novice to this downloading lark, so please bear with me.

    I managed to a download some HD material.

    When I ty to play it with windows media player I get the following message:

    Windows Media Player cannot play the file. One or more codecs required to play the file could notbe found.


    Can someone help me please, I'm desperate to watch some HD material.

    IM running WMP 10 on XP home SP2

    [Edited - Kramer]
     
  2. robertjackson

    robertjackson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    do some more reading
     
  3. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    It may not even be HD some just have HDTV in there name to say it was ripped from hdtv it would have to be at least 1gb
     
  4. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    some clips available here http://www.wmvhd.com/

    that should give you the idea... :D
     
  5. beasty54

    beasty54
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +489
    Its not really high definition at all, these files are just copied from a high definition source but then the bit rate is lowered to make it a much smaller file. Also i should probably remind you that downloading such files is illegal and not allowed on theses forums so be careful
     
  6. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    It definitely isn't true HD, it will be around 700MB and about 960x528 resolution wise.

    The answer to your question is probably in the name, you don't have the Xvid codec installed.

    Try that and if you still have issues download a prog called Gspot which will scan the file and tell you what codecs are missing
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    You probably need the latest xvid codec, do a google:)
    Install the codec and it should then play fine and as mentioned the cap isn't HD just a higher than normal resolution and is capped from a HD source.
     
  8. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    You might also need AC3filter installed...
     
  9. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    You could also buy T2 Extreme Edition R1

    Bit of a pain to get it running though... :D
     
  10. Shooter1

    Shooter1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +58
    THanks for all the positive comments.

    I've downloaded the latest xvid codec and ac3 filter but it still doesnt work.

    I ran the gspot software and when I render the file it says that directshow was unable to play the file.

    Any ideas.
     
  11. dgc

    dgc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Install "media player classic" and "ffdshow" (both freeware) and it should then play fine.
     
  12. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    VLC Player from www.videolan.org is also a useful player that copes with a lot of formats, and even broken/partial files, pretty well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...