HD Channels - Whats in HD and Whats not

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Rob_Quads, Mar 24, 2006.

  1. Rob_Quads

    Rob_Quads
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chandlers Ford
    Ratings:
    +11
    Having followed the whole Sky for a number of months (invested 2K+ in the new house with HD stuff) the limiting factor for me has been the amount of stuff that will be in HD.

    I have read in a number of offical releases about certain content being upscaled from SD to HD on the HD channel where they have no HD footage.

    Does anyone know if it will be possible to find out whether a show is in HD? Will it be another icon in the info page?
     
  2. Madkitty

    Madkitty
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know 24 is :clap:
     
  3. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    not a huge deal,

    24
    Stargate sg1 (maybe)
    Stargate Atlantis (should be)
    Battle star Gallactica
    Malcom in the middle
    CSI
    Star Trek Enterprise
    Las Vegas
    Weeds

    that is what is shown/has been shown on SKY one, that is made in HD dunno if they will take it all in hd or just some who knows but you get the idea :)

    Of which I think Malcom in the middle will only be available in May (repeats), you might just catch the back end of 24 too, but will be summer then to wait for new content with Stargate stuff, and maybe new series of las vegas in the summer too
     
  4. Rob_Quads

    Rob_Quads
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chandlers Ford
    Ratings:
    +11
    Please don't fill this threads with tv shows which are being filmed in HD - thats not the question.

    The question how will the user know they are watching a true HD signal rather than upconvert
     
  5. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    anything other than them on sky one HD is an upconvert, hence my listing of the shows, I shall not try an help any more :)
     
  6. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    The info abbreviations on the EPG show "HD" don't they?
     
  7. Mike_CA

    Mike_CA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Only 24, Battlestar Gallactica, CSI, Las Vegas, and Weeds are shown in the US in true HD (not SD upconverted) while the others are shown in SD.
     
  8. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    Not true, Stargate's are made in HD, just because they are not shown in HD in the US doesnt mean there not made in HD, S2 Atlantis was shown in 1080i in Canada and seen as the same production company makes that and sg1 and the (maybe) coment by sg1 i think I got it right,

    Malcom in the middle is broadcast as HD, but wouldn't want to debate if it is SD upscaled
     
  9. Giblets2

    Giblets2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +183
    Apparently there will be a standard screen and voice-over before all the true HD programs so you'll know even if you're blind :rotfl:
     
  10. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    Getting back to the OPs question, I think I read somewhere that a true HD show, as opposed to upscaled SD, will indeed have a designated label on the TV info guide.
     
  11. Mike_CA

    Mike_CA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    It's possible that some of those were recorded to film (such as others likeTwilight Zone, Medical Investigation, etc. which are on secondary channels that have HD feeds) but those programs are normally shown on secondary channels in the US that don't have HD feeds (except for Malcom which is shown on Fox in SD).
     
  12. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +49
    All this American junk I could'nt care less about. We want true British produced progs in HD. I think we'll get far better value from the FTA (?) HD the BBC will show... You can buy a Pace / Humax box for about £250 now. This will get the beeb's channels and other FTA HD in the coming months or years. No sub no installation just plug in and watch
     
  13. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well said ! Junk in HD is still junk.
     
  14. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    The whole 2nd series of Atlantis was shown in HD in Canada, if you choose not to believe me fine,

    Here is what sky said they are doing in HD

    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/article/ds26508.html

    and I quote
    "Stargate and Stargate Atlantis"
     
  15. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975




    You might not care but I do:)

    I couldn't give a toss about UK productions, if I liked what the UK broadcasters produced I wouldn't have gone to SKY in the first place and I wouldn't still be subscribing 14 years later.
    Roll on more US imports especially when ITV/Ch4 and Five go HD which they will eventually:)

    Yep if you are not interested in SKY's PAY content then buying a mpeg4/dvbs2 STB works as well, no real EPG or HDD recording (at the price point mentioned) but I'm sure that's not an issue for some.
    However that's a lot of money for 1 channel and a trial one at that:)
     
  16. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    Yep all three main US Scifi shows (BSG, Atlantis and SG1) are produced in HD but SciFi is a SD channel only and Universal HD at this time have only showed BSG in HD.
    Atlantis is already marked down for a HD-DVD release:)
     
  17. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    British Programming.. YUK. Bring on the US programming that takes up most of my current TV schedule. Just wish Channel 4 would start broadcasting HD so we could get ER in HD and Lost in HD.
     
  18. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    I know which machine I am buying then :)
     
  19. Mike_CA

    Mike_CA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    I expect you are right. When I referred to film, I only meant that I don't know if any of the shows are shot on film or HD since to me, both mean the same.
     
  20. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    I couldn't imagine anything less I wanted than our weekly top most viewed programs in HD.

    depressing rubbish
     
  21. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    Its shot in Digital in HD, has been for a few years, Also Malcom in the middle is being listed as being in HD according to the SKY HD website
     

Share This Page

Loading...