HD Camera Download Problem.

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by barlborough, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. barlborough

    barlborough
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    HD Camera Download Problem.

    I have a Canon HV30 camera and having some problems downloading HD video onto my laptop.

    My laptop has a dual core pentium 1.87 GHz with 2GB ram running Visa Home Premium SP1.

    I have connected it to the camera using an IEE 1394 Express Card (laptop doesn't have a built in FireWire port).

    I have been using Microsoft Movie Maker (it is free!!) and found with the camera output set to Standard Definition, every thing works as expected.

    However setting it to HDV (1080i) the program crashes!

    Connecting up as HDV the program recognises that it is HD and says it will record as High Definition Video Format MPEG at about 11GB/hour (in SD it offers options for AVI and WMV)

    It then says it will upload the entire tape (SD option for scene by scene upload not available)

    It then then finds the beginning of the tape and puts the camera into play, but as soon as the video starts it crashes.........

    Is this problem due to my hardware or is it software incompatibilities?

    Would spending money on different software solve the problem?

    Alan
     
  2. barlborough

    barlborough
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. Mr Lazy

    Mr Lazy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +144
    I would have thought your laptop would be powerful enough to cope with HDV.

    To eliminate Movie Maker from the problem, try downloading a trial version of a video editing program such as Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum and see if that imports ok or not. You've tried a different tape?
     
  4. mmace

    mmace
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +60
    Try HDVSplit, I used to use it all the time for capturing from my old HDV camera (freeware)
     
  5. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
  6. barlborough

    barlborough
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your help!

    I have downloaded a trial of the Sony Vegas - and that does download HD!

    Have also tried HDV Split, but am having a few problens geting ffdshow configured.... Have now had another play and have this working now!!

    Pity that movie maker doesn't work - it would have done all I need - will now have to decide if my movies really warrant HD!

    Thanks again!

    Alan
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...