HD camera- burn onto dvd

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by mcowan77, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. mcowan77

    mcowan77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    A novice here looking for advice.

    Whats the best way to burn hd files onto dvd to watch on a player
    There is 10gb of files


    Thanks
     
  2. 12harry

    12harry
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +388
    Hi and Welcome.
    +++ You've not said what file format your clips are in . . . .

    As you may know a standard DVD is about 4.5G - but you can get double layer types, which come nearer to yr 10G .
    However, most folks find they need to Edit their stuff . . it makes for a faster pace, cuts out the sections where nothing is happening, Also, the starts and finishes of most "takes" . and you can add music, remove odd sounds, add captions and correct some exposure errors.

    Often camcorders come with basic software to burn a DVD, but it's fairly crude and unlikely to win any Awards. . . . . . indeed if asked, I'd say it was a waste of time . . .

    Many here use Sony vegas "movie Studio" - but I suggest you get the "v12 Production Suite" as this includes DVD Architect, to create a menu, as required and separates the Editing from the burning DVD-(or BlueRay which are ~25G - but DYOR on this) . . . . it also sports royalty-free music tracks and an Audio Editor= "Sound Forge Studio".....
    There are many Editors . . . and whilst the PS will cost you £55-ish, you can pay well over £400 for other software . . . . If you don't need to edit HD clips then an older version will be half that price.



    +Also, you will need a fairly modern (2yr old max) PC to do this editing . . . with plenty of separate storage space, preferably inside the PC. (like 1Tb).
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  3. vkmast

    vkmast
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +46
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  4. mcowan77

    mcowan77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi thanks
    They are avchd files. I have nero can i use this?
     
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,171
    Which version ?

    Nero 8 up supports AVCHD on DVD blanks, you need a blu-ray player to play these. For a standard DVD player you can't use HD clips at all without recoding (mpeg2 720 x 576 25fps for UK players)
     

Share This Page

Loading...