1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HCPC newbie questions, part deux

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by MyMateJohn, Mar 28, 2002.

1. MyMateJohn

MyMateJohn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    DISCLAIMER: I am a newbie, so please be as in-depth and as patronising as possible so's I can understand your "tech talk".

Hello, I've recently learnt that you need an amplifier for a speaker system to work... why are you laughing at me?

So, here's what I've come up with:

Eltax Silverado Speaker package
    80W Front Speakers
    60W Centre + Rear Speakers
    4-8Ohm Impedance

I have two Amps to choose from

Sony TAFE530
    110Wpc
    6 audio inputs
    EON link system
    Source Direct

and

Aiwa AVD58
    80Wpc
    6-channel input
    Optical Inputs= 2
    DTS, DD and Pro-Logic
    Subwoofer Output

I want to connect the speakers and amp to a Soundblaster Audigy Card, that has:

Analogue/Digital Out (Analog Center & Subwoofer/6-channel SPDIF Output)
    Line In
    Mic In
    Line level out (Front/Rear)
    Analogue/Digital CD Audio In

I present all this information to you so you can help me,

1. Recommend which Amp is the best choice
    2. Explain the types of cable needed to set everything up

n.b. I would like to buy the Sony amp because it has more power, and Dolby Digital decoding can be handled by the Soundblaster Audigy, with DTS, Pro-Logic II etc. being decoded by the DVD software. But I am unsure about the lack of a Subwoofer out and how easy it is to link the Sony Amp to the Soundblaster Audigy.

:eek: <phew>

T.I.A.:cool:

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use the optical digital output on the Augidy and an optical digital input on the amp using an optical cable. This would output a signal that would still need to be decoded by the AV amp.