Hc1 DV out

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by One eye, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. One eye

    One eye
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I am looking to purchase a Sony HC1 but have heard that the firewire link to PC, DV out (1394) tends to blow after several uses.

    Does anyone have experience of such problems?
     
  2. David

    David
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used by DV in and DV out between 15 and 20 times on the HC1 so far with no problems. Not heard of this problem actually.
     
  3. emocean

    emocean
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've heard this fire wire blow out thing several times about various different Sony cameras and have had a faulty one myself. In my case a brand new PC330 blew on its second connection to the PC. It was replaced by the retailer with a brand new one and I have used that almost every day for the last 3 years with no further problems. I also have an HC32 which gets plenty of use and has suffered no problems. My latest cam is an HVR-A1E which is the pro version of the HC1 and I have had no problems with that.
    In my experience, if you get a problem it will be early in the cams life and will be covered by warranty. It may make you think twice about buying from Hong Kong but I don't believe that it is a massive problem.
    You may be interested to know that all Sony Pro models come with a 2 year warranty but they have prices to match. The HVR-A1E sell for around £1700 and shares the same basic structure as the HC1. It has a more robust tape mech, external XLR mic and is a DV Cam. See http://www.sonybiz.net/uk for details.
     
  4. fcat

    fcat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    used the dv out on my HC1 at least 100 times, no problems, where have you ehard the above ??
     
  5. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Not with my HC1 ( so far...:rolleyes: )

    Ive only used the dv socket about 40, maybe 50 times .Infact aaprt from viewing HDV material on a monitor that is the only way you can use it.
     
  6. One eye

    One eye
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I picked this up on the Dabs web site as a customer review.
     
  7. One eye

    One eye
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the feedback guys, you have given me the confidence to order one, I have even got a two year guarantee as standard too.
     
  8. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Good luck with it..:smashin:
    It is a fantastic piece of kit , even as an SD camcorder
    After your post I did a bit of searching in another forum I belong to ( dvdoctor) and found a link to a uaser in the states who had it and blamed it on a case of dodgy firewire blowout but it was also early and was replaced quickly ad didnt put him off
    Clearly it happens very rarely and possibly very early.. Nobody in my circle of friends or on these forums seems to have experienced it
    Once again Good luck with it:thumbsup:
    Out of interest Considering the HC3 is much cheaper , has HDMI , an slightly better lower light ( but not daylight/ outdoors) performance but no mic in and manual focus ring : was it on your shortlist?
     
  9. One eye

    One eye
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Senu
    Thanks for that. The manual focus is an important feature for me, otherwise the HC3 would have been a viable option.
    Cheers
     
  10. laser

    laser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +53
    I use my HC1 three to four times a week and have had no problems with it.

    Incidently I have loads of footage on the Internet taken with my HC1:

    http://www.nymrfootage.co.uk

    Our local Sony Centre has the HC1 for £1099.99.
     
  11. One eye

    One eye
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that Laser, I have checked out some of your footage and it looks good.

    I live in France so wouldn't be able to use your local Sony centre: I mangaed to track one down for 1373€ (about £935). Just waiting for UPS to deliver it.
     
  12. laser

    laser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +53
    That's a very good price for the HC1E :smashin:

    Hope you get as much enjoyment from it as I have.
     
  13. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    i think the pics on my hc1e are great but the sound poor the ecm-hst1 mike i bought is poor value,i find sony premium tapes fine what do you use.i have the colour and sharpness settings one over centre on mine as i find it adds a bit more to the pics.i wish the cam had a hdmi connection like the hc3e do the big sony cams have hdmi or component,sadly great as my 2100 is it harly gts used now,my email address is [email protected]
     

Share This Page

Loading...