• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

HC Garage conversion...yes, another one!

ade2080

Standard Member
Hello all,

Well…I have been lurking on these forums for a while now and have finally decided to bite the bullet and set the wheels in motion with a HC garage conversion. My main problem is… where to start??? I’m not a complete noob thanks to these forums! But I am a DIY Dunce and so will have to employ the skills of a Professional to get the job done. I’m afraid I have a few questions to ask but you lot seem like a decent bunch, so i'm hoping you can help!

It’s a pretty standard 12x9ft integral garage in a detached property. So far… apart from emptying the garage, all I have done is seal the concrete floor as the house is only a couple of years old and the dust in there was a problem. I have decided that going the building regs route is probably for the best. I have read about insurance etc and unfortunately the Mrs soon got wind of it (me and my big mouth eh!) and so her only request was to ‘keep it legal’ … as she puts it!!

I have contacted our local council and spoken with a planning officer. I informed him that it was my intention to build a timber frame structure on the inside of the garage door,infilling with appropriate insulation and then 2 layers of plasterboard, which seems to be the norm? (I have also acquired a case of Green Glue that will be sandwiched between the boards).

He has stated that the 3 other walls (only 1 external) will require insulated plasterboard and the floor ‘should really’ be stepped up and also insulated. I was hoping to avoid this, not just for cost reasons but If we ever move house it will just be a case of taking down the main screen wall and hey presto, it’s back to a garage… albeit a well decorated one.