having trouble updating to roll up 2!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by gongatots, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. gongatots

    gongatots
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    premier league burnley!
    Ratings:
    +68
    im trying to get my movies installed but i can`t do without the roll up 2 update.
    every time i try to install i get an error telling me i can only update mce 2005(which i have)
    the version i have is 5.1.2700.2230.
    i tried vista and quite liked it but nvidia will not give out custom res options in the vista drivers:mad:
    i`ve had a google but i can`t find nothing.
    any ideas?
    cheers
    lee
     
  2. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    This is a known problem with a fix. There is an entry in the registry that makes the updater program think that you have the wrong version. I cannot off the top of my head recall the exact deatils & don't have the time to Google it for you but persevere & you will find it. Try Aaron Stebner's blog as I think there was some discussion there about this.
     
  3. gongatots

    gongatots
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    premier league burnley!
    Ratings:
    +68
    thanks for the reply.
    i have looked at the blog and can`t find the fix.
    whats strange is that i had recieved a message telling me i had an update to install.
    it was the roll up 2 update and it installed ok. but when i rebooted,media centre would not work and the update was not in the list of update in the add or remove program bit.
    at this rate im going to buy a stand alone dvd player and jump on my htpc:mad:
     
  4. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
  5. blueuk808

    blueuk808
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Leepy,

    I had some problems with Roll-up 2 as well. Just out of interest, do you have any external hard drives or NAS's on your network? eg. a Netgear SC101 or anything?

    In order to get my update to work, I downloaded the roll up 2 installation file from c-net downloads (I think - just googled it), disconnected my network card and installed it while not on the network - didn't get the error. Might be worth a punt.

    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...