1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

have sold my denon 3802 have £2,000 to spend what processor

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by brendank, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    hi guys,

    just sold my denon 3802 and am looking for a quality sound processor as i have active speakers and dont need amp

    i will be using it mainly for home theatre and i am looking for aprocessor that will support all the latest sound formats

    i have up to £2,000 to spend what would the forum recommend

    looking forward to reading your suggestions/recommendations

    cheers

    :) :)
     
  2. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Bought a Tag Av32R - 192bp a couple of months ago and its awesome, would recommend to anyone. Seek one out and have a listen for yourself.:D
     
  3. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanks mr THX

    i have the tag on my list , i wonder what other processors you looked at before going for the tag

    do you think the arcam av8 is worth considering?

    cheers

    :confused: :confused:
     
  4. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    You should audition the Rotel RSP 1098.
     
  5. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    It certainly is, but it is a different sound from the Tag. You should listen to both and see which one "floats your boat".

    Regards
    John
     
  6. mutley

    mutley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +2
    Try Meridian 568.
     
  7. ShinObiWAN

    ShinObiWAN
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lexicon MC-1 should also get an audition.

    If it were my money and had it to do all over again I would go with either the MC-1 or the AV32r.

    The others suggested are good, very good infact but not in the same league as the Lex and Tag for AV.

    If you want excellent music reproduction and very good AV go with the TAG or for very good music and excellent AV go with the Lex and its astonishing Logic 7 modes.

    You best bet is to hear these two and compare them - I did and in the end I choose the Lex MC-1 because of its AV performance.

    Both processors' should be around £1200-1500 used and with the latest software installed.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    What speakers are you using?
     
  9. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    hi all

    thanks for all your input, lots of choices, i dont where to start

    tag av32r
    arcam av8
    rotel rsp 1098
    meridian 568
    lexicon mc-1

    quite a choice, i am swayed by the lexicon logic 7

    is there any others i should consider?


    horny dragon, i am using bang olufsen speakers, beolab penta 3 for front, beolab 8000 for rear, beolab 2 subwoofer and i have beolab 4000, which hopefully i can use as centres rear and front.

    i know they may not be well thought of in certain circles but they sound good for me and they certainly look good. they were all bought second hand.

    cheers

    ;) :)
     
  10. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    Both Tag and Meridian have alternatives to Logic7, though the name of the Tag mode escapes me. Meridian's Trifield mode is particularly good for CD sources. In fact, the 568 is the very best processor that I have ever heard, albeit running Meridian Digital speakers.

    Russell
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Erm i happen to know quite a lot about B&O speakers actually, 4000 as centres will work, see what you think of using both up front as a dual centre using the power link switches on the connection panel. I am a fan of Logic 7 on HK stuff (Lexicon is a Harman company) getting a demo of similar system is not impossible, PM me with your location etc for some more info.
     
  12. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanks for the offer hornydragon,

    i am based in dublin, actually we have quite a few red and green dragons descending on our town this week for some reason but not to worry they will all be slayed by tomorrow:devil: :devil:

    interesting suggestion about using the 2 beolab 4000 as front centre speakers, my only concern is since i have beovision 3 and apperently i am meant to use that as my front centre speaker.

    i tried that with the denon 3802 but could never get the sound from the dvd to the beovision 3. i ended up having to use mission centre speaker with 3802 and muting the sound from the tv i.e all the sound was controlled by denon 3802 when playing dvds if i left the sound on tv i could hear tv channel in background

    i travel to uk fairly regularly as there are very few high end hifi retailers operating out of ireland these days. so i will be searching for retailers who stock arcam,tag,lexicon,harmon kardon
    on the route from hollyhead to manchester

    so if anyone can point out the relevent shops on this route it would be much appreciated

    cheers
    :) ;)
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    BRedan i assume you dont have the Dolby Digital panel in the Bvis3 then??? Thats the simplest way to go and cheapest!
    There are ways of doing this dependig on your DVD etc. DD panel is not mega bucks and will alllow you to use your speakers while you demo processors. this uses TV as centre but there are other solutions
     
  14. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    yeah hornydragon

    i should of got the dolby digital module when i bought the bv3 but i didnt see the point when i had already spent 1100 euros on the denon 3802. i see the point now though alas

    i have denon 2800mk11 dvd player but i havent connected it back yet :eek:

    what other solutions can i use in the meantime??

    thanks
    :) :)
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I meant get the DD panel short term. getting a processor to use logic 7 etc for TV is easy! you can connect penta's or Lab 8000 to the powerlink sockets on the Bvis 3 for stereo, and very good stereo!
    How do you fancy one remote for B&O and whatever else you have DVD processor etc???
     
  16. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    your probably right hornydragon

    this has puzzled me for a while as i have seen pictures of the dolby digital module for the bv3 and i think it only has 4 powerlink sockets on it ie 2 front and 2 rear and then 5th channel presumably been the tv as centre speaker.how does this tie up with using the beolab 4000 as double centre speakers??

    the bang olufsen remote is the business another reason why the denon had to go as watching a dvd sometimes involved 3 remotes. it would be nice to be able to control all the b+o kit plus my other a/v equipment with it. i have the chip from codefree for the denon 2800 but havent fitted it yet but once fitted i will be able to control it with the beo 4.

    now it would be nice to be able to do the same with my new processor when i get it.probably will have to investigate some sort of ir blaster/receiver/transmittor or something like that for this though

    i also have the lutron graffikeye light control sitting in a box for the last 6 months:eek: :eek:

    :) ;)
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK LAB 4000 wont work as centre with DD panel but other 4 will and you can use Pentas or 8000 in stereo without any cost.
    http://www.harmonyremote.com
    Should control B&O Harmony say they will! so controlling anything else will be easy.
    Is graffic eye B&O model or standard?
    You can use Xantech remote translator to control other kit with Beo4, never done it but it is theoretically possible!
     
  18. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    the graffikeye is the bang olufsen one no problem actually have 2 but will only use 1 probably should sell the other one at some stage.

    will the harmonyremote folk ship overseas as a lot of us companies are very insular in their approach to overseas sales

    if i get the dd module as temporary measure how then will it work with say a logic 7 processor or is it just bypassed altogether?

    will check out the zantach stuff tomorrow

    thanks again
    ;)
     
  19. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27

    :rotfl: think not. :)
     
  20. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    ahem gringottsdirect

    judging by the state of these dragons in dublin city tonight i doubt if any of them red and green dragons will still be standing by sunday.

    i know they will be fortified by another legion tomorrow but me thinks they too will fall prey to the many wicked temptations on offer in the many fine hosterlies and other dens of ill repute that dublin has to offer.

    of course you may steal some of our women folk from us but that will be scant reward for your weekend!!

    to the dragon slayers the spoils:devil: :devil:
     
  21. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Just been watching this thread as I'll also possibly be looking for a good processor.

    Meridian, Arcam, Lexicon and Tag are the main 4 on my list.

    I can find 2nd hand/ex dem for all except the Arcam AV8. Is it easily available?

    Thanks.
     
  22. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    you have pm
     
  23. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    337GUS no pm??

    General Skanky they are very hard to find all right must be too good to sell?:confused:

    brendan
     
  24. ShinObiWAN

    ShinObiWAN
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think its the General that 337GUS pm'd.
     
  25. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    sorry, yeah I pm'd the General

    Brendan, yes the AV8 is tricky to get although they are appearing ex-dem occasionaly and a few did seem to crop up with the recent Arcam dealer shake up.

    Gus
     
  26. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    with external processor you would bypass the DD panel. Harmony are available in the UK so if you cant find one in Ireland someone "wink wink" will probably ship to you in ireland.
     
  27. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Oh well ! :smashin:
     
  28. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,838
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    If anyone knows anywhere with an ex-dem AV8, please let me know by PM as well. See my thread, I'm also on the hunt :)
     
  29. brendank

    brendank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    drogheda, co louth,ireland
    Ratings:
    +6
    to hornydragon

    just got this reply from harmony remote people, its not as easy as i thought

    Hello Brendan,
    Bang & Olufsen equipment uses a very high frequency infrared which cannot be analyzed (learned) by the Harmony Remote, or any other universal remote to our knowledge. Therefore you cannot directly teach commands from your Bang & Olufsen to the Harmony Remote. However, we are committed to providing support for Bang & Olufsen devices and are working diligently to solve this problem. To date we have even been able to create 2 infrared languages to work with Bang & Olufsen equipment.

    The 2 B&O devices that we have in our database are the BeoSound 4000 and the BeoSystem 2500. These are located under the "Mini System (CD, Radio, Cassette)" device category. If you have either of these devices then you can add them to your account, include them in Activities and then update your Harmony Remote and control them.

    If you do not have the BeoSound 4000 or the BeoSystem 2500 then we suggest that you add both of them to your Harmony Remote configuration, update your Harmony Remote and test out the infrared languages to see if either of them control your B&O device(s). To test these languages you should use the "SST Control" Activity on your Harmony Remote and navigate down into the "All Commands" section. Once there you will be able to send individual commands to your device(s). If either of these 2 devices have commands that control your device(s) then we can help you to add your own device and use these infrared commands.

    If neither of these infrared languages control your device(s) then we can work with you to build a language. Unfortunately Bang & Olufsen have not been very forthcoming with information about their infrared protocols and so we have to identify and create these protocols from scratch. This is a slow process, as we need an original remote and have to scope and manually recreate each command. In this case we will need the original B&O remote from you. As an alternative, you may want to contact B&O yourself about providing infrared codes to you. They may react differently if a customer of theirs is requesting this information.
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    will have to look elsewhere i think i may have solution from german company with lots of potential for other uses

    cheers
    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...