1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Have I reached a sensible limit?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by tullamore, May 14, 2003.

  1. tullamore

    tullamore
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +3
    Dear all,

    After getting the bug I've upgraded to a system that I will have to live with for the next 18 months. Basically it's

    Pioneer 656 DVD player
    Finlux 32" TV
    Pure Videologic Digitheatre

    connects via QED Sqart, THOR scart, Ixos Gamma Encore phonos and a Ixos Gold coaxial and speakers wired with QED Silver Anniversary £5/m cable

    Short of tearing it all up and starting again can anyone suggest any purchase that would make a diffreence for another £100?

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Universal remote?
     
  3. tullamore

    tullamore
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Nathan - Good idea but is there one that would allow me to tweak the DVd settings or would I need to still do that with the dedicated pioneer remote.

    Oh - someone else mentioned SVHS instead of scart as giving me a better picture? And how long does a sqart take to 'burn' in? Or does it ever burn in?

    Sorry - not expecting Nathan to answer all these. Anyone else welcome.

    And if I should spread these across other forum sections let me know. Thirsty stuff this knowledge lark!

    Mike
     
  4. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean tweak the DVD settings? with a LCD touchscreen you add the buttons you mainly use- up/down/left/right select, vol, on/off etc, plus shortcut buttons to devices or other layouts. And you can add macros as well (a program of buttons, ie 1- Play - DVD, 2- TV- Input 1. 3- AV amp- DVD input.

    For more info on remotes.

    www.remotecentral.com

    At a guess the best PQ you can get with your setup is SCART RGB. Plug the DVD SCART into AV1 and select RGB output on the DVD.

    There is no such thing as cable burn in.
     
  5. paiger

    paiger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whoever told you that SVHS is better than Scart is a dipstick as it makes no sense. SVHS is Super VHS and is used in VCR's. They probably meant S-Video which is a general picture format, like RGB, component and composite etc.

    Scart is a plug design and has nothing to do with formats. Scart leads can carry Composite, S-Video and RGB signals. In your case, use a scart lead and set the DVD and TV for RGB and you will most likely have the best picture. S-Video is very close and in some cases may be better but your DVD and TV need to be able to do it.

    Saying SVHS is better than Scart is like saying diesel is better than the M25.

    For £100.....hmmm.......You have good leads and I suspect your weakest link is the speakers. Consider changing your 2 main speakers for something better, maybe second hand
     
  6. CounterWhine

    CounterWhine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,480
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +155
    Love it! :laugh:

    D.
     
  7. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    Doubt the Videologic DigiTheatre would do much better with speakers other than its own ones though. Thats the problem with such "systems" ... no way to upgrade. If I have £100 and your system I'd either spend it on DVDs and CDs to enjoy listening to ... or save it towards a separate amp plus speakers.

    Vikki
     
  8. tullamore

    tullamore
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks all,

    I think I'll go with Vikki and blow it on Buffy. Tx

    Mike
     
  9. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Order the R1 boxsets from DVD empire (around £35 for a boxset) compared to rip-off woolies at £60 for a boxset for the R2's.

    As long as your DVD player is multi-region.
     
  10. tullamore

    tullamore
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got series 1, 2 & 3 on R2 from PLAY but just got Season 4 on R1 from CDWOW for £29. Having to avoid spoilers like crazy. I think Buffys dead while having it away with Spike while singing in a musical. Or something like that. I hear her mums not well either.

    Mike
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Welll you could try getting an Avia disk to tweak the settings (with an SPL) or buy some DVD's

    Yeah buy some DVD's
     
  12. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    The correct terminology is S-Vid (seperate video)
    On some high end players the S-Vid output will be better than RGB on lesser machines.
    RGB performance is also dependant on the display
    It is not uncommon that people find RGB "soft" and S-Vid "edgy".


    Steve.
     
  13. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,885
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +567
    We don't wish to know about your sexual fantasies.
     
  14. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,406
    Poor Vikki, hope she doesn't get bored or feel left out.... :laugh: :p
     
  15. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    :blush: :kisses:
     

Share This Page

Loading...