Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Have I been a sily boy?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Bada Bing, Aug 29, 2004.

  1. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've had my Panasonic W5 for 18 months and have just put up with having sky via composite during that time, with the intention of investing some money in a decent Scart-YUV convertor. A trip to Monza and a Honda S2000 have gotten in the way and soaked up all my free cash.

    However when I was flicking through the menus on the TV the other day I saw a menu called "Component/RGB-in select". It's set to Component now, but I have the option of RGB. Does this mean if I route the R,G,B from the sky box's scart into 3 phono's that I'll get a picture?

    If so I'll kick myself! :laugh:
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,867
    i would have thought so.......but you might need a sync signal on composite or something like that.
     
  3. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm thinking a cable like this will do the trick? Anyone got any experience as to whether it'll work?
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,867
    the cable looks correct, but i'm sure there will be somebody along who will 100% know.
     
  5. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Cool. I'll probably buy it and hope for the best, on the condition that I can return it if it doesn't work. Will certainly be a hell of a lot cheaper than a Scart to YUV converter! :D
     
  6. Gerard Fernand

    Gerard Fernand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    location
    Ratings:
    +29
    Scart RGB requires 4 cores. Red, Green, Blue and Composite Sync.

    On the panasonic PW5 connect the R.G.B. from the scart lead to the relevant R.G.B. inputs on the terminal board, and connect the Composite lead to the Composite video input.

    In adition to setting the video type to RGB in the Plasmas menu, you also have to set the SIGNAL type in the same menu to SYNC ON VIDEO.

    Also remember to set the SKY box to output RGB.

    There will be a big improvement in picture quality.

    I think the composite sync from the SKY box is a full composite signal so you should be able to cycle between RGB and AV on the Plasma to see the difference. Set the SKY box to BOX OFFICE and you will see a lot more clarity in the menu text etc when viewed as RGB.

    The limitations you have from the above setup is that you lose both the component (YUV) and S-Video inputs. (The S-Video input is common with the Composite Video input).
     
  7. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Gerard, thanks very much for the advice, it's exactly what I was looking for. Can't believe I've had the TV all this time and never noticed! :laugh:

    I put my component stuff through a switchbox anyway, so I can still switch back over to Component for the DVD/PS2/NGC.

    Cheers,
    Gaz
     
  8. isko

    isko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I have misplaced the message.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice