Hauppauge Nova-T in a HTPC - any better yet?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Richard Harnwell, Oct 4, 2002.

  1. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I know the Nova-T had some bad press around here in the past, but I was wondering if any recent driver updates have improved matters.

    What are the impressions of people who still have these cards?

    Do they fit well with the integrated HCPC concept?

    It would be great to get rid of one more box!
     
  2. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is no-one using one of these?
     
  3. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    There have not been any new drivers for several months now.

    But, when in works it gives THE BEST TV picture especially if you want to blow it over large screen. I think it is still good value for less then £100.
     
  4. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for that.

    I notice you say "when it works". What things can go wrong with it?

    Richard
     
  5. Pootle

    Pootle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you haven't got a good signal, they are a real pain, and a few folks have had a lot of problems, but hey its running windoze, so you gotta live with that sometimes.

    I would say though that while the picture is generally great (way better than any other route for TV on a big screen I've yet found), the lack of de-interlacing makes fast moving stuff pretty naff - rolling credits are often very hard to read for example.
     
  6. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    No deinterlacing; oh dear........


    I assume it isn't compatible with dScaler :(
     
  7. Pootle

    Pootle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not yet, but there is suposed to be a version of dscaler coming as part of the version 4 development which can be plugged in-line, and is not dependant on specific hardware. It should be possible to use this if I understand things right, without much hassle.

    Haven't checked on this for a month or so though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice