Hauppauge FTA box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Taz, Dec 3, 2002.

  1. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As in this months HCC mag............. DEC 2000-T

    I got one and shall I tell you where its going? with its s'pose to record to PC USB connection!...... straight back to supplier absolute pants from start to finish!

    Ask me about it if you want but you REALLY dont want one of these!:mad:


    Taz.:cool:
     
  2. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Was looking at possibly getting one of these a while ago. Not got round to it, sounds like I'm glad I didn't.

    What's the USB bit like?
     
  3. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Total rubbish! and it cost me £30 in USB leads to 'try' to connect to PC. stay well clear young jedi! :mad:


    Taz.:cool:
     
  4. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I got a nova-t today to see if I could get it working with some new PVR
    software I found, and I'm happy to report that I got it working fine with
    MHEG5 and PVR features and it doesn't hang anymore, so I thought i'd share a
    few tips.

    1. Install the latest 4.8 driver, for the nova-t this can be downloaded from
    http://www.technotrend.de/english/download/download.html (TT-PCline budget
    family), for the DEC 2000 it can be downloaded from
    http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/tv_adapters.htm#Support
    2. Install Windvd 4.0
    3. double click UK.reg in the DVB-T_UK folder of the nova-t software
    4. Remove DVB Data Control from your startup group
    5. Download and install the mheg 5 software from
    http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/tv_adapters.htm#Support this works on nova-t and
    dec2000.
    6. Load the DVB-TV application and scan all channels (not just your local
    transmitter), this will take a while but will find all the channels.
    7. Download and install the unofficial PVR software
    http://people.freenet.de/bigfoost/ choose the english version
    8. Load the videorecorder app and set it up
    9. Success! you should now have a rock solid stable PVR with interactive
    services.
    10. Bonus points - download and install Ahead Nerovision http://www.ahead.de
    for making SVCD copies complete with interactive menus.
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Technically I'm more Sith than Jedi.:p

    Hope you get the PC cleaned up.
     
  6. spamboy

    spamboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got one as soon as they came out and am really pleased with it.

    I've just got to get a PVR to work with it and I'll be happy. I'll try the one posted, looks like it should work.
     
  7. triplebj

    triplebj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmmm, I have a DEC 2000, and I am quite happy with it.

    Thanks for the software links, cybersoga - I will be checking them out, when I get back from Denmark :)

    BJ
     
  8. triplebj

    triplebj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cybersoga,

    I downloaded the software from http://people.freenet.de/bigfoost and although it recognises the DEC2000 box, I can not get it to record ?

    It startes up the app and set the correct channel on the time entered, but does not seem to start the recording at all ???

    Any help appreciated !

    BJ
     
  9. kevenh

    kevenh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Royal County Of Berks...
    Ratings:
    +0
    This Freeview STB has Composite, RGB or Y/C (adj. by software), Audio L/R availalble on the SCART o/p!

    Y/C - I thought only the PACE box had S-video.

    Detaill here
    Shame the DEC2000 box looks more geared to being a PC based product than a full stand alone STB.

    How's it compare to the Nokia's, and Panny boxes out there?
     
  10. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Taz

    I will ask you about it. What's wrong with them, please explain.

    Cheers
     
  11. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    How often does your DEC2000 boxes crash?

    Mine crashes quite regularily!!

    Any good reasons?

    Thanks
     
  12. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,084
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +171
    I've had one of these boxes for a couple of months now, hooked up to a Pioneer 433 plasma. PQ is excellent, it never crashes. I've tried it via scart and via a PC, and both ways work flawlessly.

    The software is a bit clunky, but it works. Performance via USB into a W2000 based PC, and outputting to the 433 via DVI is superb. No crashes, no freezes. The recording and playback facility works great. Basically in my experience this box does what it says on the tin.

    I have a very good signal in my area (Oxford transmitter).
     
  13. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    philipb

    Could you please check your signal strength scales and the software revision of your box?

    On some channels eg. SKY news, I would be getting around 35% but the picture is still very good.

    And finally, Just to clarify something; Has your box NEVER crashed?

    Thanks
     
  14. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,084
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +171
    Signal strength is about 80% or 85%, with the quality level right across the scale. PQ is at least as good as I get from Sky digital.

    And yes - it has never crashed. The software is the latest version - can't remember the number off hand - but I did a software update a couple of weeks ago. The one problem I see using the USB connection is a slight stutter on pans, which I suspect is due to the limited bandwidth of USB1.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice