1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone used this site

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by boogie man, Dec 18, 2002.

  1. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi All

    http://www.ivojo.co.uk

    Has anyone used this site to order your plasma if so are they any good, cause i just about to order my panny

    still not sure if to get the panny with or without tuner box

    Panasonic TH-42PW5B TNR with tuner

    Panasonic TH-42PW5B without

    Thanks

    boogie man
     
  2. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    looking at the site, it seems that the TH-42PW5B has a "home-made" terminal board. Is it not supplied by Panasonic?

    Also, where are the RGB input and Serial input?
    (they maybe a fixed part of the Panel, irrelevant of the input board...)
     
  3. Sparky101

    Sparky101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Don't know about Ivojo but Richer Sounds are doing the same plasma for £3194 at the moment and they've just got a load more in stock. Mine should be in the Colchester branch tomorrow.
     
  4. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    just look at rs site & they are out of stock on the panny

    look here

    thanks

    boogie man
     
  5. Member 14847

    Member 14847
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    The board we include with the plasma is the Panasonic TY-42TM4Z component video card. On a number of occasions we have had to resort to legal action when companies have copied our web site lock, stock and barrel so we decided to add the web address to photo's of products we have taken ourselves. The 15 pin d-sub VGA is built into the plasma screen.
     
  6. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    looks like i be ordering my today then

    thanks ken for the info

    thanks boogie man
     
  7. Sparky101

    Sparky101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just phone up your local branch and they should be able to get one within a few days. Plus you don't have to pay delivery costs as long as you've got one nearby.
     
  8. allanrose

    allanrose
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I've just ordered panny 42" plus tuner box from them - first class service, delivered within two days
     
  9. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    going back to the choice of Terminal board or Tuner, although I have bought one yet, I believe that the Tuner may give more flexibility.
    Also adding up the cost of all the various cables and boxes, it will not be a big difference in price.
     
  10. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ivojo have been around for quite some time. They're one of the first companies to start selling plasma screens for home use and have the experience that you simply will not find in any large multi-branch outlet.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  11. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    looking into more details at the Tuner + Tuner Board, the manual for the Tuner says that the PC ports (VGA + Serial) on the Plasma will be disabled by the Tuner Board.

    So if one wants to plug in a PC as well, will have to use a VGA2SCART cable and plug into the tuner.

    If so, are these cables any good? (I mean, equal to a direct VGA RGB input into the Plasma?)
     
  12. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    well it ordered nice new panny with tuner box delivered nextday friday had a little problem when ordering it though but sorted now.
    :D

    i my self look at one without tuner add up all the new cable's i need & converter for my dvd / sky+ box and though not much in it,So i went for the tuner model to give more flexibility. for future upgrade's i only use rgb connection.

    my setup will be

    Av1 = sky+ via in RGB Scart
    Av2 = Amp via S-video & Pc Via Amp s=video
    Av3 = Spare
    Av4 = DVD via RGB Scart

    edit

    saggio

    Have A look at this post regards the vga port disable

    vga port disable

    Thanks Boogie man
     
  13. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks boogie man

    with respect to the PC connection, you clearly have a S-video out from the PC Display Card (same as I have).

    But will it be decent quality (I mean the S-Video), with respect to a direct VGA connection PC-2-PLASMA ?
     
  14. ddaddy

    ddaddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Will John Lewis price match richer sounds? This way getting 5 years warranty.

    cheers
     
  15. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    saggio

    I do s-video to my tv from my pc/laptop & picture is very good on movie's play back, when i get the plasma i let you no if its any good , ;)

    but i see where you coming from regards vga versus s-video for pc input, just need a vga lead now to try the difference.:eek:

    thanks boogie man
     
  16. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Boogie man, you'right. I have done the same from PC to TV with an S-video. But on such a large Plasma screen may not be the same good result.

    According to the Manual, the Tuner Terminal Board disables the VGA input on the Plasma, so you can only conect your PC via the Tuner.

    Cheers.
     
  17. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Me and a mate have both use Ivojo to order 50" plasmas, and found them to be nothing but fantastic (knowledgeable, honest, timely, friendly, return calls, etc.). Highly recommended.

    Give Ken a call and find out for yourself.

    StooMonster
     
  18. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    The Tuner Terminal Board doesn't disable VGA on 50" Pannys, the Receiver box does. To use VGA, one just unplugs the Receiver box (with the power off) from the cable.

    I am not sure if this is the same with 42" models though, but don't see why not.

    StooMonster
     
  19. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi StooMonster

    Thanks all the reply i have order my plasma from them just sitting at home waiting for it to be delivered today.:D

    must say they were very good so top marks for them. :)

    StooMonster

    i will try it when i get it up & running.

    just can't wait to pin up on wall & sit there mouth open amazed at it lol:eek:

    thanks boogie man
     
  20. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you Stoomonster. Very good point.

    Have you made a test with a PC: S-Video onto the Tuner -V- VGA directly to the Plasma?
     
  21. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    well ivojo.co.uk just rung to say plasma will here today and give me the no. to trace my parcels

    well i would say this site is very very good indeed

    thanks
    boogie man
     
  22. MattB

    MattB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex,UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought my PIO from ivojo a couple of months back and would not hesitate to use them again.

    I was going to use Joe but he lost out due to uncertain delivery time, high delivery cost and no credit card orders. Ivojo had the best price, allowed credit card purchase and delivered next day for about £10 if I remember correctly. I did have to fit the PDA5002 card myself but this is very easy.

    Matt.
     
  23. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    well it here.......:D now i just got to put it up on the wall :(

    then rig the lot up again :p will post so picture at some stage when it's all done.:confused:

    thanks boogie man:eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...