has anyone upgraded from 37" to 42"

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Baron Von Doom, Nov 5, 2005.

  1. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +176
    i will soon have the money to upgrade my 37" pw7 plasma to a 42 pw8.
    i think the 37 looks a bit small on my wall. has anyone else upgraded. i need to know if the 42" will make much of a difference to how it looks before i spend the money.
    ive looked at a couple of 42" screens in the shops but i cant tell in the shop as there were no 37" to compare with
     
  2. Lionheart

    Lionheart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +176
    thanks vey helpfull. looks like it i may have to go for 42". the only problem is im not allowed the 37 in the bedroom. ive been told i have to sell it :mad:
     
  4. arby1

    arby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +97
    37's are great, but can be a tad small, and while 42 is better, the difference between the two won't be noticeable after a few weeks (not enought to warrant upgrading IMO), i'd rather save my money and go for a 50" or save again and go for a HD 42"- at least then you'll have something more than just a few inches
     
  5. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +176
    after looking at a few threads on here 50" is very tempting but probably a bit out of my price range. i might go for the pwhd8, but still not sure if i will use high def for a few years. wont be getting sky hi-def. although it would be nice to have the screen just in case
     
  6. Ade848

    Ade848
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had a problem with my PE37 that is being replaced...made sure that I have upgraded the replacement screen to 42" :thumbsup:
     
  7. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I upgraded from a 37 to a 42. All I can say is that when I got the 42 it just felt right. I dont really look at the 42 now and say 'I wish it was bigger', its exactly right. I will only ever want something bigger if I move to a larger house, which is not gonna happen for a very long time so there you go. My 42 is being watched wall mounted at a distance of 8.5ft. For me this is spot on. :thumbsup:
     
  8. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +176
    thanks for the reply. thats about the same distance as mine. ive always thought it looked a little small, its only recently the gf has said we can get a bigger one. what make/model do you have. im almost certain i will go for a pwd8 as i dont think i will use hd for a few years, and by then will probably have a new house so will use that as an excuse for a new screen.
     
  9. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got th 42pwd8. Very happy with it, cracking picture via the component converter.
     
  10. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +176
    have you tried scart yet. will be using scart from sky. noticed you have a denon 1906, im also thinking of getting one. have you tried the component switching?
     
  11. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, thats how mine is set up. I use the amp to switch between ntl and dvd player etc. The amp is excellent and the picture from the component converter is excellent too. I'm not an expert on this panel but this setup was the easiest for my requirements to get the best picture quality.
    My set up:
    Plasma connected to component Output on 1906 (with a vga cable)
    Ntl scart into component converter into 1906
    Dvd component into 1906
     
  12. Repton

    Repton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    I've got a 42" screen and it is definately perfect for my 3m viewing distance, but the cost/size benefit of a larger screen is just too big for me.

    But I might get tempted by that 71" 24ct gold plated LG plasma!! :D
    (the RZ71PY10 at 1920x1080 native res) only £16,300!
     

Share This Page

Loading...