Has anyone tried the One For All 6 (from RS)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by MonkeyDonkey, Jul 14, 2002.

  1. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    My TV remote is pretty much as dead as a dodo and seen as I might be replacing the TV soon anyway I don't wanna spend much on a new remote for it.
    I've come accross this remote from Richer Sounds (others sell it but they appear to sell a newer model) and just wondered if anyone has one or has any experience with it.

    At £9.99 it seems a great bargain and it would be nice to be able to control all the basic functions from one remote.
    However it looks a bit of a dodgy shape to me, the way the buttons are arranged seems rather odd IMHO, I can't get to a store soon (to see it) so if anyone has any first hand experience with it I'd appreciate any comments.

    Ta:cool:
     
  2. lbeck

    lbeck
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a direct answer for your query, but it's been a week or so since your post so maybe my "opinion" will help.

    I have the One for All high-end remote to control all my AV components. It's the best thing in its class IMO. It cost about $100 but is both IR and UHF to allow placement of a IR transmitter at a remote location. Also, I like the learning function that allows it to clone other remotes.

    Anyway, OFA seems to be a reliable mfgr that makes a good product. I'll bet the $10 unit will serve you well.
     
  3. steev

    steev
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've got a OFA6 that I've had for a while. It's actually a very powerful device, but I'm not using all the features. I've been using it with the TV, video and cable, but just got a new TV so need to reprogram. Haven't set up the DVD controls yet.

    It can be a pain to find the right code for a device as they are listed by type and manufacturer. For some companies there may be a dozen or more to try.

    If you like there is an option to build a PC interface and program from there, but that's something else I have yet to play with.

    I paid more than a tenner and for that price it's a bargain.

    Go for it

    Steve
     
  4. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your replies guys.

    steev is yours the one shown on the RS website? or is it a newer model?
    Argos and others seem to have a newer model for £30 but I'm not sure if RS just don't have a piccy of the newer one.

    If it is the one on the site is it uncomfortable to hold?
    It looks a funny shape?

    All being well (providing its not as hot as it was today and I don't decide to go and watch a film :D) I will try and get to the Birmingham store on monday. Failing that I may just order it, at £10 it can't be that bad and I'm sure I'd get at least that on Ebay if it was bad.
     
  5. steev

    steev
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
  6. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yup that looks like the newer model I've seen too.
    If I'm gonna spend £30 I think I'll get the Cambridge Audio model from RS.

    Cheers
     
  7. Tejpal

    Tejpal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont recommend it.. i also bough one from RS and i gave it back soon after.
    I wanted it also to use for my tv, the codes given didnt work, but in the manual it said, it had a MODEM built in, so all you had to do was ring customer services and then put your phone onto the head set and it would automatically update. so i though i would, i rang the *FREEPHONE NUMBER* and it said that this number was moved to a "0906" number which was charged at 2.50 per minute!!!!!!!

    £10 remote and i wasnt gonna spend £££s making it work, so i briskly returned it...

    Buy it if you know it is ganna work
     
  8. steev

    steev
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can update the Oneforall via the net. I think you have to register, but then you can download WAV files that you play to the little microphone on the back of the remote.

    I did this once when trying to get it working with my NTL box and it seemed to work.

    I know these remotes don't have a fancy screen, but as I said before it's a very powerful device for not much money. You just have to live with it's limitations on the user interface side.

    Steve
    A fairly happy OFA6 owner
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice