1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone tried the One For All 6 (from RS)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by MonkeyDonkey, Jul 14, 2002.

  1. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    My TV remote is pretty much as dead as a dodo and seen as I might be replacing the TV soon anyway I don't wanna spend much on a new remote for it.
    I've come accross this remote from Richer Sounds (others sell it but they appear to sell a newer model) and just wondered if anyone has one or has any experience with it.

    At £9.99 it seems a great bargain and it would be nice to be able to control all the basic functions from one remote.
    However it looks a bit of a dodgy shape to me, the way the buttons are arranged seems rather odd IMHO, I can't get to a store soon (to see it) so if anyone has any first hand experience with it I'd appreciate any comments.

    Ta:cool:
     
  2. lbeck

    lbeck
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a direct answer for your query, but it's been a week or so since your post so maybe my "opinion" will help.

    I have the One for All high-end remote to control all my AV components. It's the best thing in its class IMO. It cost about $100 but is both IR and UHF to allow placement of a IR transmitter at a remote location. Also, I like the learning function that allows it to clone other remotes.

    Anyway, OFA seems to be a reliable mfgr that makes a good product. I'll bet the $10 unit will serve you well.
     
  3. steev

    steev
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a OFA6 that I've had for a while. It's actually a very powerful device, but I'm not using all the features. I've been using it with the TV, video and cable, but just got a new TV so need to reprogram. Haven't set up the DVD controls yet.

    It can be a pain to find the right code for a device as they are listed by type and manufacturer. For some companies there may be a dozen or more to try.

    If you like there is an option to build a PC interface and program from there, but that's something else I have yet to play with.

    I paid more than a tenner and for that price it's a bargain.

    Go for it

    Steve
     
  4. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your replies guys.

    steev is yours the one shown on the RS website? or is it a newer model?
    Argos and others seem to have a newer model for £30 but I'm not sure if RS just don't have a piccy of the newer one.

    If it is the one on the site is it uncomfortable to hold?
    It looks a funny shape?

    All being well (providing its not as hot as it was today and I don't decide to go and watch a film :D) I will try and get to the Birmingham store on monday. Failing that I may just order it, at £10 it can't be that bad and I'm sure I'd get at least that on Ebay if it was bad.
     
  5. steev

    steev
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yup that looks like the newer model I've seen too.
    If I'm gonna spend £30 I think I'll get the Cambridge Audio model from RS.

    Cheers
     
  7. Tejpal

    Tejpal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont recommend it.. i also bough one from RS and i gave it back soon after.
    I wanted it also to use for my tv, the codes given didnt work, but in the manual it said, it had a MODEM built in, so all you had to do was ring customer services and then put your phone onto the head set and it would automatically update. so i though i would, i rang the *FREEPHONE NUMBER* and it said that this number was moved to a "0906" number which was charged at 2.50 per minute!!!!!!!

    £10 remote and i wasnt gonna spend £££s making it work, so i briskly returned it...

    Buy it if you know it is ganna work
     
  8. steev

    steev
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can update the Oneforall via the net. I think you have to register, but then you can download WAV files that you play to the little microphone on the back of the remote.

    I did this once when trying to get it working with my NTL box and it seemed to work.

    I know these remotes don't have a fancy screen, but as I said before it's a very powerful device for not much money. You just have to live with it's limitations on the user interface side.

    Steve
    A fairly happy OFA6 owner
     

Share This Page

Loading...