1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone tried imaging a Sky+ drive to another?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Stevie G, Feb 11, 2003.

  1. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    I think the 120gb Maxtor hard drive in my Sky+ is dying (re my other thread!) and was wondering if it's possible to 'image' the drive to another.

    I have a spare 80gb drive (no good to use the the Sky+ - IBM and 7200rpm), but I was thinking that perhaps I could delete any unwanted recordings from Sky+, which would leave around 40-60gb on the drive. Could I then use something like Ghost to copy the whole Sky+ drive to an image to store on the spare drive to then copy back when I get a replacement Maxtor? Has anyone tried this? I know you can't access the files usually from a Sky+ drive, but would doing this just not image the raw data?
     
  2. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    This cannot work as Pace use a modified IDE controller to interface with the drive to prevent things just like this. A std. IDE controller will only be able to read some of the data properly.
     
  3. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    But surely if you can use a standard drive and are able to image all the data on that drive it should copy the data over? It's not like they use a special drive that had a hidden area or something.
     
  4. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    When I upgraded my drive to a Maxtor 120GB I had a look at the drive that came out and it seems to use a standard FAT32 file format.

    Each programme you record gets it's own directory which contains several files.

    I see no reason why you could not ghost the drive...but wether it would work again in the Sky+ box I'm not sure.

    The only unknown is wether the Sky+ box will detect the new drive as being 'new' and wipe out anything stored on it - via serial number or something - or if it contains some sort of lookup table in the box itself for the EPG.

    Hope that makes some sense...it's a bit late to get too technical :boring:

    Cheers, Lee
     
  5. Stevie G

    Stevie G
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    OK. Well if the drive doesn't stop squeeking I'm going to have to return it to Maxtor, so I'll try it then and post here either way.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...