Has anyone managed to get the Region X to work with the Offical Remote?

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by I J S, Sep 29, 2001.

  1. I J S

    I J S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I don't know what I'm doing wrong but no way on this earth can I get The Region X to work with the Official remote.It just won't have it at all and that's with all the appropriate Region X codes entered from the help site.Not being able to use the remote with Region X also means the lip-sync isn't corrected!

    I must say I am regretting the day I ever bothered.I now have the choice of Multi-Region capability but with truly appalling lip-sync and the inability to use the remote OR Region 2 only with lip-sync corrected and use of the remote.

    When I add up what I've spent on cables,extra controllers,Region X,Memory cards and the Official remote I would have been better off buying a stand alone PS2 at £199 and a multi-region Toshiba 210e (and I probably would still have had a few quid left).

    Am I alone in my frustration? <img src="mad.gif" border="0">
     
  2. andy_mac

    andy_mac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coulsdon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't had any problems with the dvd region x & the official remote control.

    I entered the codes for the new drivers (under Euro remote on the dvd region x website) & followed the instructions they give you above the codes.

    I tested it with the Region 1 Gone in 60 seconds DVD & it worked fine. All the functions on the remote worked as well.
     
  3. I J S

    I J S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy,<br />I have version 1.30E DVD player on my PS2 so I enetered the appropriate codes for my player according to the chart on the Region X help page.I followed the steps again to also enter the codes for the Euro remote but still no joy!<br />Should I enter the codes for my version DVD player and the codes for the Euro remote all at once or seperately?

    I followed the steps on the Region X codes page but when I drop a Region 1 title in it comes up with the Unauthorised region message.If I remove my 8mb memory card which has the remote drivers on I can play Region 1 discs but of course no remote or remote drivers.

    Also after entering the codes and failing,I go back to the codes page again and they all disappear!!!It's becoming something of a pain entering all these codes time and time again (especially when getting no joy).<br />Have your codes saved or do you have to go through this ritual everytime you power up the PS2 to play R1 discs?

    I must be doing something wrong somehwere and any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

    Ian

    p.s. I tried emailing them at the address on the help page but it bounces straight back - "failure to deliver".I give up...I really do!
     
  4. andy_mac

    andy_mac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coulsdon
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, let's start from the beginning! This is how to do it (well, it's how i did it!). Make sure you have a memory card & the DVD remote in the second ports. Then follow these steps:

    1. Turn the PS2 on, put the region x cd in, then turn the PS2 off again(just turn it on & off by holding down the power button, don't flick the switch @ the back of the PS2). Turn the PS2 back on & wait for the PS logo to appear (the logo that appears when you first turn it on, NOT the PS2 logo that appears when you load a PS2 cd).

    2. Once the logo appears, hold START, L1, L2, R1 & R2 together. Keep holding them until you see the region selection screen, then let go & press the X button. The cd drawer will open but keep the region X CD in the drive.

    3. Turn the power off again by holding the power button, turn it back on then press the button AGAIN to reset the console. Make sure you just reset & not turn it off.

    4. Wait for the PS2 to start & the region x cd has finished loading. Once the region x region selection screen appears, press the select button.

    5. Enter the codes for the Euro Remote ONLY. Enter them on the screen as they are below.

    E79A9A5F 83B731E3
    E7979617 83BC31E3
    679522DB 67B551D0
    6795FE53 67B551D0

    Once you have entered the codes, press the START button.

    6. You will now be back on the region selection screen. Select the region you want to play & press X. The drawer will open, put the DVD in & close the drawer.

    7. Wait until the PS2 browser is displayed with the gold DVD showing. Select the DVD & press X.

    8. That's it. The DVD should then play with no green screen (if you are using RGB scart) & the remote should work as well.

    If you go to the PS2 browser screen & select the memory card, there should be a region x save on the card. If so, then you have done it correctly. All you have to do after that to play your DVDs is put the region x cd in the drive, turn the PS2 off & on & let the cd auto load. Then select the region you want, press the X button to open the drawer, put the DVD in the drive & wait for the browser screen to appear. Select the DVD & press X. It should then work, even with the remote!

    This may sound like a lot to do but it's not. Once you have done it once, you'll realise how simple & quick it is to do.

    Hope this all helps, especially as I've just spent the last ten minutes finding the instructions I printed off & typing this all up!! :)

    [ 18-10-2001: Message edited by: andy_mac ]
     
  5. I J S

    I J S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that Andy - I will give it a try this afternoon! I don't know what I had done yesterday but I gave up when my PS2 wouldn't accept any discs via Region X - Regions 1 or 2!!!<br />I'll start from scratch later and just hope I havn't buggered my console up!

    Ian
     
  6. I J S

    I J S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy,<br />I've had a little success but I havn't hit a home run yet!<br />Having followed your step-by-step procedure I can play Region 1 discs and use the remote!However,it will not display the dvd menu screens and comes up as "unable to read disc"!But when I press play the film starts and then the remote works great!<br />Also when checking the memory card there's no record of Region X on there.<br />I clearly am on the right tracks but I must have done something wrong so I'll persevere and try and try again....

    Thanks again,

    Ian
     
  7. I J S

    I J S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cracked it!!!!!!!!
    That's a couple of pints I owe you Andy....cheers.

    The remote works perfectly with Region 1 discs and although there's no record of Region X on the memory card,when I select the PS2 icon it indicates the file has been updated. :D
    There's no sign of lip-sync problems either :)

    Thanks Again


    Ian
     
  8. andy_mac

    andy_mac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coulsdon
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem Ian, glad to of been of assistance! :)
     
  9. dts borg

    dts borg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks Andy
    used your info & it works fine.

    Thanks Keith
     
  10. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,287
    Out of interest do you have to insert the CD into the PS2 before playing your selcted DVD when wanting to play R1 DVDs ???

    Also if you just want to playback R2 DVDs but without the green-screen RGB thing do you still need to put the CD in ?

    I just want to use my PS2 as a quick 2nd R2 only player ( have a multi-region and an R1 only player already ) but do not want the green screen thing ?

    So is it just a do it once ad its done procedure ? or do I have to fiddle around each and every time before watching a film ?
     
  11. andy_mac

    andy_mac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coulsdon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm afraid you have to run the RegionX CD everytime!
    However it's not that bad. If you are going to watch more than one DVD, you only have to put the RegionX CD in the first time. All the time it is kept switched on, you can watch all your DVDs in RGB. As soon as you turn it off you will have to run the CD again to watch with no green screen. Also if you are watching a DVD & want to watch a DVD from another region, you would again have to run the CD.

    If there is one bad thing about the RegionX, this is it!

    [ 18-10-2001: Message edited by: andy_mac ]
     
  12. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,287
    when you say turn it off do you mean off fully or just the standby button ?
     
  13. andy_mac

    andy_mac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Coulsdon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Either!! Whether you turn it off @ the back or press the standby button, you have to run the CD again.
     
  14. wildedaniel

    wildedaniel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    Can someone help I recently bought a DVD Region X for my PS2 but when I try and play it , it asks me to insert a playstation or playstation 2 format disc, What am I doing wrong.

    cheers

    Dan
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice