1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone got a Samsung HD 935 yet?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by pcavelle, Sep 25, 2003.

  1. pcavelle

    pcavelle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    ...and, if so, any verdict on using it with a projector via DVi?

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  2. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mine arrived earlier, works with no problems on a SP5700. It does 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080i via dvi - all work perfectly. If you play a region 1 dvd, it outputs 480p. Switch to region 2 and it's back to 576p. Yes, it is multi region!

    The following hack converts to multi region:
    1. Make sure the tray is empty, close the tray.
    2. Press the following buttons on the remote, one after another:
    Repeat, 5, 7, 5, 3, 8
    3. 2 should appear at the top left of the screen. Press 9 for multi region.
    4. Press the power button on the remote.
    5. Turn back on, it should now be multi region!

    Didn't have much time to play, but initial impressions are good, I'll report back after I've had a bit more time with it.
     
  3. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well, had a bit more time to test out the player and the results aren't very good I'm afraid. I'm pretty sure I've got it set up correctly, but the picture from dvi is pretty poor. Have a look at these close-ups:

    576i via component
    [​IMG]

    576p via dvi
    [​IMG]

    As you can see, the image from dvi has blocky edges compared to the smooth image from component. Have I got it set up incorrectly? is my player suspect? Surely the dvi output isn't meant to be this bad!

    I'll probably send these images to Samsung and see what they have to say. Any other thoughts?
     
  4. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just to give some kind of scale what exactly are we looking at here?

    (projector, distance from screen and what the image source is please)

    Would agree that it looks worse.

    Regards,

    Ian Guinan
     
  5. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    Projector: Infocus SP5700
    Distance: about 20cm from screen
    Source: Caption from Goldmember timetravel bunker scene.
     
  6. pacemaker

    pacemaker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    wouldnt say blocky
    from that distance everything would be
    colours look more defined
    any chance of a pic from a better distance?
     
  7. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just to double check;

    - you've got your display set to 'Native' with the aspect control.

    - there is no keystoning

    (No offence meant as I noticed both of these had a huge effect on the picture quality with a 7200 and a Momitsu V880)

    Ian Guinan
     
  8. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    p.s. picture must be ever so slightly out of focus as I can't see the dimples on your dlp mirrors....:)

    Ian Guinan
     
  9. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    PJ was slightly out of focus, but my photography is a bit blurry too!
    Aspect control set to 16:9 – has to be otherwise the picture is squished:

    [​IMG]

    No keystoning

    You can’t tell much from these far away pictures (about 2m from screen), but here goes anyway.

    Component 576i
    [​IMG]

    Component 576p
    [​IMG]

    DVI 576p
    [​IMG]

    As you can tell, I’m no photographer. Anyway, I find the more meaningful shots are the close-ups, sorry they’re a bit blurry;

    Component 576i
    [​IMG]

    DVI 576p
    [​IMG]

    If you compare the ‘k’ and ‘y’ on both pictures, the component signal has far smoother edges. What you can’t see from these close-ups is how the edges around the letters move about over different frames as the edges are processed. This is really spoiling the picture over DVI, the component picture is far nicer to watch.
     
  10. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    'Aspect control set to 16:9 – has to be otherwise the picture is squished'

    This could be where the problem is. I found with both PC DVI and Momitsu DVI that anything other than Native still seemed to be scaling the image and produced artifacts on the Infocus 7200 (well a Tosh MT8 actually but the same thing).

    What will your Samsung output via DVI?
    Is it the same as the native resolution of the panel in the projector?
    When you say squished do you mean that the image is smaller in the centre of the screen or is it stretched?

    Regards,

    Ian Guinan

    p.s. I get my 'dimples' focused for full sharpness and then just knock them slightly off deliberately just like your pictures to give a smoother image.
     
  11. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    It seems the Samsung is outputting 720x576, look at the first picture in my previous post - that is with the pj on native. The picture is squashed in the centre of the screen, so you have to use the 16:9 setting on the projector to expand it properly.

    Surely, the projector stretching the image to 16:9 shouldn't have that much effect? I'll have a look for artifacts on the native setting.
     
  12. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    If the Samsung is genuinely putting out 576p then in Native it should be a full screen height image..sounds like the Samsung isn't doing what it claims to be.

    Ian Guinan
     
  13. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    There's no problem with the height - it's the width that isn't right. I was hoping it would output 1024x576, but it seems it does 720x576. Shame the 5700 doesn't give more info about the signal, it just says 576p / 576i etc, not 1024x576 / 720x576.

    I've emailed Samsung, so we'll see what they have to say.
     
  14. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    Let us know what they say.

    Ian Guinan
     
  15. Grubert

    Grubert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +72
    On AVS forum the Samsung HD931 has been widely criticized because of the heavy edge enhancement it inflicts on its DVI signal. You're probably seeing the same thing.
     
  16. krl25sc

    krl25sc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just set the 935 up with a Panasonic 6 series plasma - and am having similar issues - I've had more success with NTSC discs for some reason though - but the picture is as venkman described - the picture/colours are more vivid via DVI than component but more "blocky" and not quite so pleasing to watch - certainly not the sharp picture I get via HTPC. In addition the picture is not centred as there is a black bar down the right hand side of the screen. I'll experiment further over the next few days...
     
  17. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    I also noticed that performance was better on R1 disks. Also, if you use 1080i mode the picture is softer and you don't notice the blocky edges as much. However, 1080i mode outputs at 60Hz and pans aren't as smooth as 576p.

    Still waiting to hear from Samsung…

    BTW krl25sc, if the picture is not centred, try changing the dvi mode in the setup if you haven’t already.
     
  18. Denner

    Denner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the Samsung output 576p on the component connection???

    I dont have HDCP DVI input on my projector (PTAE-300) but i could use a cheep player that has the FIL 2310 shipset like the Samsung :confused:
     
  19. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes it does, but the picture seems more stable using 576i on my projector.

    Also, I tried plugging it into my PC monitor (Samsung SyncMaster 172w) and it worked on 720p & 1080i. I could still see the artifacts present when using my projector, so I think the player may have to go back. I Didn't think my monitor was HDCP ready, so perhaps it might work with an AE300.
     
  20. krl25sc

    krl25sc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've now got a great picture with this player with my Panasonic 6 plasma - for some reason I am unable to get a picture using the DVI 576p output mode (anyone know why?) but get the desired result with the 720p output - I believe this is because the Panasonic 6 can take 720p native (?).

    For £176 delivered from a Samsung UK authorised dealer, I'm struggling to see why there isn't more talk of this player - although when the new Pioneer HDMI/DVI players come out I will be selling!
     
  21. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    I dont believe the panny 6 supports 576p on it's DVI input, whereas 720p is supported.

    Still waiting to hear when the fix will be available for the 6 series DVI board. It's not 100% there yet, which is why I'm stuck at 480p output from my Momitsu DVI player. Not that I'm complaining - it looks great - but I'd like to try some of the other options. Maybe 576p support will be part of the fix ?

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  22. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    My bad. The manual says it supports 480/575/720p and 1080i. Finger crossed for the firmware fix (see this thread )

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  23. krl25sc

    krl25sc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply Carl - must be a problem with the DVI card as both the 576p output playing PAL discs and the 480p output playing NTSC discs just shows snow - all other outputs work fine though. From a quick look through the AVS Forum there doesn't seem to be any mention of DVI board firmware fixes or issues - is this a solely UK problem or did the delayed launch of the DVI boards in the US fix this problem I wonder...
     
  24. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Has it been confirmed that the 935 is HDCP? The Samsung UK site doesn't even list the 935 yet.

    Does making it multi-region remove it?

    I know the US version (the 931) one is HDCP, and as all the users tend to be American I have no idea if it can be made multi-region and if it makes any difference to HDCP.

    I'm hoping it isn't...

    Cheers
    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...