Has anyone got a Panasonic S97 yet ?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by paulk, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. paulk

    paulk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are these out yet and has anyone got one, whats your thoughts ?.
     
  2. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't own one, but I used one for a bit.
    It's got damn good picture quality and plays just about everything you ask of it. I'll probably wait until I get an amp with HDMI loop through (like the matching SA-XR70) as I would prefer to use the HDMI output for DVD-Audio aswell as using it for upscaled video output to my high res projector.
     
  3. p623

    p623
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi yes I have one it's a very good player, although there is a problem with "macroblocking" the same problem that is affecting the Denon 1919 & 2910

    Paul
    Ps. I’ am using DVI to Infocus 7205 projector
     
  4. Lil in Spain

    Lil in Spain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paul,

    I'm seriously considering this player, is it good via prog scan aswell? And what is the pic quality like via DVI (compared to non DVI ) to your pj?

    Cheers
    Lil
     
  5. p623

    p623
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi Lil the component output is top notch, but once you have seen DVI there is no going back, simply AWSOME!
    paul
     
  6. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
  7. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hdmi and Dvi (with some restricitions) are mutually compatible.
    Ie. HDMI - DVI lead, or DVI - HDMI.
    hence the S97 doesn't have a DVI output but people can connect the HDMI output to a DVI input (with restrictions).
     
  8. p623

    p623
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    I use a hdmi male to dvi female adaptor then feed through dvi cable to the dvi-m input on the 7205 this just strips the video out of the combined a/v hdmi coming out of the s97
    OK

    Paul
     
  9. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    yes i get the whole deal of HDMI - DVi but was getting confused with quotes saying picture through dvi is excellent. to me this is stating what the picture is like from the output machine and not the input machine. all cleared up now so no harm done
     
  10. gstadt

    gstadt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +23
    On the pictorial of the back of the S97 on the AVLand website it shows a DVi output AND aq HDMI output? You figure.
     
  11. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    i think if you looked properly is says DVI with output = 0 underneath. were as HDMI has a one underneath. you figure
     
  12. gstadt

    gstadt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +23
    Oops, didn't see the 0 :blush:
     
  13. HouseofMu

    HouseofMu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    paul623,

    So is you connection like this:
    Panny S97 HDMI o/p -> HDMI to DVI adapter -> DVI/DVI cable -> M1-DA adapter into M1-DA socket on projector?

    Could I ask, which/where/price for the adapters , incl. the M1-DA ?

    Would a direct HDMI-DVI cable not have been better? I'm thinking alng the lines of less adapters to interfere with signal?
    (I know you have to use a DVI toM1-DA adapter at the pj end)

    I'm asking as I have a MT8 and am looking into getting a S97.
    One last question: Is yours Multi-region ? (again price/where would be helpful).

    Thanks.
     
  14. p623

    p623
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yes this is how my cables connect.
    I imported (at great expense the 2 adapters) form the US as at the time I could not obtain them in the uk!
    But now if you go to this page you will find what you need at a fraction of the cost
    http://www.lindy.com/uk/catalog/15/04/02/index.php

    But as you say a hdmi to dvi cable would be better and just one DV-M adapter

    see here
    http://www.lindy.com/uk/productfolder/04/41104/index.php

    keep your cable no longer than 7 meters

    This the link for S97 MR

    http://homepages.force9.net/grahamash/magic/indexhome.html

    Regards

    Paul Walker

     

Share This Page

Loading...