Has anyone given up the life and gone travelling?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by HouseTonyStark, Feb 19, 2014.

1. HouseTonyStark

HouseTonyStark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +541
    I am on the verge of forging ahead with a decision that will probably affect the next 5-10 years of my life, and may completely alter everything in my future:

Im thinking of selling just about everything i have, and backpacking across the world.

now my current Thoughts are to earn money in some countries (and give myself a base to jump from) by Teaching english, and in other countries(australia for example) by just bumming along on whatever sei decent work i can get to cover my work visa requirements.

for all intents and purposes i could end up spending the next 2+ years on the road as it were, and the thought of this is daunting to say the least. I graduated Uni just over a year ago, and im really feeling like if i dont do this now (25) i may not do it at all, not least because the travel work permits have some age limitations attached!

Im really wondering if anyone has experience of this, or some thoughts?

Thanks

:)

2. pgriffin

pgriffin
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    if you don't do it now you WILL regret it for rest of your life...I do. I have lots of friends that have done it and bar 1 its been the best experience of their lives. I always wanted to do it but children got in the way so have to do it 1 place at a time at the moment

3. Steve N

Steve N
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,390
    My daughters doing this - sort off.

She finished uni a few years ago and did the USA first on some sort of scheme called Camp America where you do a bit of teaching/mentoring.
    She then returned to UK to earn a bit more money and went to Australia for about a year working here and there to pay her way.