Harmony Remote Software vs MyHarmony.com

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by doowruc, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. doowruc

    doowruc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I'm trying to decide between a One and a One+ as they are both on Amazon but with the One being £40 cheaper than the One+.

    What are the advantages / disadvantages between the Remote Software vs MyHarmony.com?

    For example, from what I read on the Logitech website, for the 700 the Software allows only 6 devices whereas MyHarmony.com allows 8 devices - a huge advantage to the web setup.

    Will Logitech do similar things with for the One+ which then wouldn't be available for the One?

    Are Logitech halting development of the Software in favour of MyHarmony.com?

    How does MyHarmony.com tell the difference between the One and One+? (hardware difference? firmware? serial number?)

    Apologies for the many questions!

    TIA
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    The two are identical so if one is cheaper than the other then that's the one to go for.
    The web site that the + version can use is inferior to the normal set up procedure.
    As far as I know though it is only the cheaper models that it restricts to a small number of devices.
    Logitech don't do any development of software so that point doesn't arise.
     
  3. chris6

    chris6
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    I read that they are identical, as logiciel said, and that One can handle up to 15 devices.

    It was also stated that they could both use either myharmony.com or v.7.7.0 Software.
     
  4. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    The site won't let my One chat to it, got to be the software.
     
  5. doowruc

    doowruc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Forgot about this thread!

    I bought a One from Amazon as it was £40 cheaper than the One+

    I can confirm that they are identical: If I connect it to the 7.7.0 software it is recognised as a One, if I connect it to MyHarmony.com it is recognised as a One+
     
  6. doowruc

    doowruc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    That's odd. Mine is a One (there is no + anywhere on the packaging and it came with a CD with v7.6.0 software) and it works with both.
     
  7. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    How did you geddit to do that ? Or did it just do it ? :(
     
  8. doowruc

    doowruc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    It just did it!

    I set it up using the software first, then I wanted to see what the differences were in myharmony.com

    I had to set up a new account in myharmony.com as I had previously used it for my old 650. When I logged into the new account it detected my One as a One+.
     
  9. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    As you said, in post #5.;)
    It's another Logitech oddity - I'll check mine later.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice