Harmony or Homeseer?

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by mdfwrestler, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. mdfwrestler

    mdfwrestler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Everyone,

    I’m about to take the plunge into Home Automation and would like opinions on which software route to go down.

    I’m a Media Center Edition user and will be using X10, ZWave and Rako products plus keen to develop macros for events etc…

    Do I go Harmony or Homeseer?

    Any comments welcome.
     
  2. RSK21

    RSK21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Stony Stratford
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hello,

    I have used both - started off with Harmony and have moved to Homeseer.

    Am currently 15 days into a 30 day trial with Homeseer and have found it vastly superior and more stable. Also back up (particulalrly via the user forums) seems to be on a different level to Harmony.

    RSK
     
  3. rgmaniac

    rgmaniac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi do you have links where to get the software and hardware from? Thinking about adding it to my MC after seeing it on the gadget show. All X10 websites I find seem to be in America
     
  4. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    I have been using homeseer for over 3 years with NO problems on X10, it is one of the best bits of software I have!!
     
  5. dobbin

    dobbin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +9
    Homeseer seems to have it!

    I just want to do some lighting scenes. Does anyone know of anywhere to get a cheap version?
     
  6. dobbin

    dobbin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +9
    .......Anyone?..........
     
  7. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516

Share This Page

Loading...