1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Harmony H655 - bargain at under £30?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by rowlandhills, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. rowlandhills

    rowlandhills
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Baldock
    Ratings:
    +18
    Well, I'd been musing about getting a multi-remote, and was considering the H885 as a Christmas present, when I saw this:

    http://www.dixons.co.uk:80/martprd/product/LOGITECH/H655/786023

    which is an H655 at £29.99!

    I've ordered one, and they reckon it was in stock, so will be delivered in 5 working days. I've had trouble with Dixons online before, but this seems such a good price that I couldn't leave it there!

    Hopefully, it'll arrive sometime next week and soon after I'll be able to relegate all of my existing remotes to a drawer somewhere...

    Hope it's useful to someone else.
     
  2. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    I have a 655 already but at that price i may buy another one for the bedroom!


    Great find mate :smashin:
     
  3. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    ooh :clap:
     
  4. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers, just ordered another! It'll make a great xmas present for my dad! :smashin:
     
  5. morganog

    morganog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    SOLD OUT!!!!
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    some left instore tho chaps and no P&P!!!!
     
  7. morganog

    morganog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just called my local dixons and they have two left in stock!!!!
    Im going shopping!!

    What is the rrp of this remote?????
     
  8. vex

    vex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London, Home Counties & North West
    Ratings:
    +261
    £65!
     
  9. morganog

    morganog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just nipped down to currys and they have the 525 there for £70!!
    In dixons next door they have the 655 for £30!!
    Should i go for the better looking to the eye 525 or the 655 and save £40??
     
  10. Del45

    Del45
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    My local currys had one 655 left so I snapped it up.

    I now have to cancel the 525 from CCL.
     
  11. cR4cKF0x 5TevE

    cR4cKF0x 5TevE
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    St Merryn
    Ratings:
    +331
    My local Dixons denies all knowledge of ever stocking logitech remote controls!

    This is very cheeky, but if anyone can find one of the these £30 bargains could they purchase an additional one for me :lease: , and drop me a PM for me to make a payment for the postage charges and confirm delivery details.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    it was £99!!!!!!!!!!
     
  13. morganog

    morganog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    got it today from dixons 4 hours later still trying to set it ip!!!
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    whats the issue?
     
  15. morganog

    morganog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant get it to sellect component when i want to watch a dvd
    i have a panny pv500!!

    Help please??!!
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ah yes panny are a real buger with tha blue button bit you can call tech support free phone number or use the add command to send the blue (or what ever colour button command at the end of each activity) calling support (open till 3 am IIRC) is much easier!see posts on using harmonies with other veira sets E30 and PE5 as well as threads on PV500 settings all the info is out there
     
  17. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,712
    Seems laughable to me that the whole concept of the Harmony is based around input switching but it isn't very good at it. In fact in my experience with a 655, it wasn't very good at anything! The only functions it would control on my Viera PE30 were volume & channel changing. The much touted support offered no help whatsoever.

    My advice would be to put it on Ebay quick & make a few quid towards something that actualy works.
     
  18. Slimchandi

    Slimchandi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is how I got my Panasonic CRT working.

    First, set the telly so it powers on to Tuner, not AV.

    Then set the inputs up on the Harmony Website so they are chosen by pressing Input Select, then colour (Red for 1 etc)

    Then make sure at the end of every activity you add a command which switches back to the Tuner Input.

    That way your telly starts every action from being on Tuner and knows which buttons to press.
     
  19. msg

    msg
    Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    422
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington
    Ratings:
    +14
    Read comments in this post....

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=257093

    We've been going through same pains as you, and I, for one, think I've got it cracked...

    Dave ;)
     
  20. Shimmyhill

    Shimmyhill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cheers for the heads up on this bargain, a m8 went and picked up the last 2 from Dixons in Norwich - now having fun ang games trying to set it up !
     
  21. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +43
    managed to get one today
    Many thanks
     
  22. karlak

    karlak
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,740
    A few left at Dixons in Central Milton Keynes.
     
  23. mjb-av

    mjb-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Far, far away
    Ratings:
    +47
    :hiya: Went to Lakeside in Essex today looking for the Logitech Harmony H655.

    They are still marked up at nearly 70 quid! So I found an assistant and produced a print out of the web page showing the price at £29.97, the assistant confirmed that £29.97 was the correct price.

    They seem to be marked up for 70 quid at most Dixons, but are actually priced at £29.97.

    Just get an assistant to confirm the price.

    :clap:
     
  24. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +34
    picked up 2 from the Holborn branch this morning, there was 1 left when I left at 9:07, priced up correctly at 29.97, Also plenty in Chelmsford branch according to a chap on the DVDforums.
     
  25. bigalow

    bigalow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    3 left in dixons cheshire oaks ellesmere port
    there was 4 :) :) :)
     
  26. 3804

    3804
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +11
    got the last one on display at Currys team valley
    Scanned thro at £29.97
    so best to try currys atm
     
  27. nemo

    nemo
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Just picked the last one up from Currys Ashton-Under-Lyne :thumbsup:
     
  28. fieldl

    fieldl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the heads up on this guys :thumbsup:
    Picked one up yesterday in Dixons Blackpool. They had two left (one now)
    Spent last night setting it up. Seems to have a slight issue with selecting the AV2 input on the TV too many times but nothing I cannot live with.

    The gf can now easily watch the tv, saving me hours of 'education'

    Result.
     
  29. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +414
    One left in the Harrow branch as of yesterday....
     
  30. banjo21

    banjo21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +141
    Got one from Currys, Bromborough at £30. Bugger to get working with Amstrad Sky +. Cant get back button to work. Seems to only accept its a Pace Sky+.
    seems potentially impressive but after 4 hours still struggling.

    Do I have to do an "update My Remote" every time I do something or is the learning feature taken immediately?
     

Share This Page

Loading...