Harmony 885 - Difficulty with Fav Channels

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by nheather, Mar 17, 2006.

  1. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,048
    I'm trying to add the final polish to my 885 setup.

    I'm onto the Favourite Channels but I can't get it to work.

    This is my setup ...

    TV is Panasonic Plasma Panel (no tuner)
    Tuner is Sky+

    I have an activity called Watch Sky+ which works fine upto this point.

    When I add a Favourite Channel such as

    Image for BBC1
    Channel Number = 101 which is the Sky channel for BBC1 on update I get an error message

    The 'Watch Sky+' Activity does not understand the command 'ForceState Watch_Sky+_Channel 0'

    Any idea what is going wrong - I can't see that I am doing anything wrong because all I am doing is adding an image and a channel number.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    ah i have seen tis bt cant remember the fix, but tech support are open give em a call.........
     
  3. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,048
    Just got off the phone from Logitech.

    They are trying to fix the problem that Sky have introduced with the Sky Radio numbers - that is given them numbers that begin with '0'.

    The trouble is, the Harmony remote treats the Channel number as numeric so as far as it is concerned

    0101 - a radio channel
    and
    101 - BBC1

    are identical channels because the leading zero is ignorred.

    The radio problem has already been reported and Logitech are trying to implement a fix for it. They admit that in doing so they have broken all Sky Fav Channels whether they are Video or Radio - they anticipate a fix by 21st of March.

    Note - this only applies to adding new or modifying existing Fav Chans - any existing ones will work.

    This is because existing ones will be sending the old algorithm (no leading zero) whereas any new ones or modification will try and apply the new algorithm which isn't working just now.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  4. cjn

    cjn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think your error message is a general Harmony problem, caused by using punctuation and special characters in the name of an Activity. Stick to A-Z and 0-9 and the error should go away. I don't think it's connected with the 0101/101 issue.
    Chris.
     
  5. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,048
    Okay, I'll try that.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  6. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,048
    Thanks for the info - yep it was because I had named the activity "Watch Sky+". Changed it to "Watch Sky" and all is fine.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  7. jrussell26

    jrussell26
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've set up my favorite channels for sky in the harmony software, but I can't find anywhere in the remite to let me access my favorites. Does anyone know how to access them?
     
  8. Webagents

    Webagents
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3

    Press the media button
     
  9. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,215
    Hi
    got the same problem! Tried the media button but still no go, any other ideas??

    Thx
    Ossie

    ahh sussed it! Thanks guys, I have to select an activity. will the media button work the same way when selecting a device??
     
  10. Composite

    Composite
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any news on the update - it's 21st March.
     
  11. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    Is there a fix for this problem yet?
    Starting a Radio activity with Sky 0104 gives me 104.
     
  12. Gary_W

    Gary_W
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    I was about to start a thread on this to get help and saw this post :)

    I too am trying to sort out radio favourites, but it's having none of it due to ignoring the leading zero. Great shame as all the logos look very nice indeed ;)

    Gary
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    time for one of you to call Harmony CS
     

Share This Page

Loading...