1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Harmony 688 or 885

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by hysys, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. hysys

    hysys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    I am looking at remote to replace my X remotes.

    I am using
    TV : "normal" Toshiba 32"
    Amp : Denon 3802
    Sky+
    DVD : Pioneer 525

    I also have VCR and LD (but I am not using them ....)

    My question is the 688 is £80 and the 885 is £135. I am not convinced that I need the 885 for my simple setup.

    1) is it true ?
    2) what are the main differences between the 2.

    Thanks a lot

    ( :hiya: this is my first post)

    edit :
    after more reading it seems that the 655 is an equivalent of the 688 but european and cheaper

    so it is 885 at £135 vs 655 at £60.

    is it really "twice" as good ?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i am fortunate to own both 655 is easier to use and simpler but lacks the PVR functionality of 885 etc the 885 is more "featured" and the media button a god send for giving you short cuts to channels via the screen one button for 101 188 901 etc etc without you needing to know the numbers.....
     
  3. hysys

    hysys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the answer.

    Just a stupid question is sky+ a satellite or a PVR ?

    Not sure what you mean but the media button could you give me more details.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  5. hysys

    hysys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks a lot it is clear now

    I have the feeling I need to buy the 885 :clap: , just need to find a shop with it in stock :mad:
     
  6. mh123

    mh123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Offshore UK
    Ratings:
    +66
    www.futurehome.co.uk

    Available for next day delivery. Quick and friendly service. Recommended, if not the cheapest. :thumbsup:

    Cheapest is dabs at £135 but none in stock and not likely for at least a week I was told yesterday. :thumbsdow
     
  7. hysys

    hysys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    anyone has an idea where to get an 885?

    I am looking for less than £179 (futurehome) but in stock (dabs). I suspect dabs is cheap because it doesnt have them :devil: but £179 is a bit over my budget :rolleyes:

    Thanks
     
  8. mh123

    mh123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Offshore UK
    Ratings:
    +66
    pixmania - £163 + delivery.

    Futurehome delivery is free.

    Not much in it...
     
  9. Baggaa

    Baggaa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. GhillieDhu

    GhillieDhu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
  11. vex

    vex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London, Home Counties & North West
    Ratings:
    +261
    konnect2.net has them instock for £170 delivered! ;)

    Shipped instantly.
     
  12. andrewb0000

    andrewb0000
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i ordered one from them (CCL)friday mornin received it monday, no probs
    lee
     
  13. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    I have both;

    IMO

    The 885 is a real beauty but I do not think the buttons are quite as practical as the 655. The 655 ones are further apart and easier to use by feel.
    The 655 has dedicated activity buttons which means one less step to teach other users although I dont find it a problem myself.
    The media screens on the 885 are useful.
    The 885 has a charger the 655 needs AAA batteries but works with re-charagables.

    So far I have not come across anything (within reason) that either of them will not do reasonably efficiently. Cannot say I can think of anything that the 885 would be able to control that would be beyond the 655 but that is just based on my limited experience.

    The RC controllable parts of my main system consists of a Panny CRT; a Topfield PVR; a yamaha amp/surround processor; a Musical Fidelity stereo amp; and an Arcam DVD/CD player. Both the Harmonies dealt with that set up OK. The one button activity switch from PVR to DVD which involves changing inputs on both amps and the TV; turning on the DVD; and even opening the tray is particularly impressive.

    Lastly the 885 has a colour screen of course.
    They both need a fair bit of tweaking in my experience and a lot of patience.

    Got the 885 from Dabs by the way (£135) ordered earlier this month; took just over a week.

    Richard
     
  14. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Doesn't the 885 have 'activity' buttons? That's a shame.
    Dave.
     
  15. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    Dave
    The hard buttons around the screen are used for activites when in activity mode. So you press the activity mode button and the screen displays the activity labels. (sorry if that is obvious :) ), It is more flexible as you can relabel them etc but not quite so intuitive perhaps.

    Richard

    PS Mind you the 885 is gorgeous; :D and at about £140 is not bad value but at £50-£60 I think the 655 is incredible value.
     
  16. dodgyd

    dodgyd
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +71
    Thanks Richard, very helpful :)
    Dave.
     
  17. ab1385

    ab1385
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +75
    How does the 655 do the DVD functions without the FF, RWD, rec buttons etc? Also, what does the 885 do that the 688 doesn't, beside a colour screen?
     
  18. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    The 655 has all these dedicated buttons; It does not have dedicated DVD chapter type buttons but these; like any other commands can be emulated by the hard buttons next to the screen; which labels them appropriately.

    If you look a few posts back I compared the two models as far as my experience goes. Personally I do not think there is a great difference in ability, the 655 does not have the media/favourites screens.

    Richard
     
  19. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    Although the 655 does not have dedicated chapter buttons i have mine setup so the channel +/- button is used for chapter +/-.

    IIRC this is the default configuration.
     
  20. mark.king

    mark.king
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +1
    In case anyone is interested www.cclonline.co.uk have 21(well 20 now) in stock for £138. Just bought one.
     
  21. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    There is a good review of the two harmonies here
     
  22. mark.king

    mark.king
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm waiting for the helpdesk to call me back at the moment. The web site is having a problem with the krell amp I have. Ah well lets hope they call back soon with an answer.
     
  23. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    I have been having trouble with the logitech site all day. Just need to tweak a few things. Perhaps they are having more general problems. Maybe it has devoted all its resources to sorting your krell, Mark. :D
     
  24. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
  25. Skeets_de

    Skeets_de
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If Logitech's web site is physically located in Switzerland (they are a Swiss company) they are having lots of infrastructure problems with the severe flooding. This may explain it. :rolleyes:
     
  26. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    Thanks Skeets I had not heard about that.

    Richard
     
  27. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +202
  28. mark.king

    mark.king
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes sorry the ccl site is .com

    Well Support called me back yesterday and spent nearly an hour on the phone. There was a problem with the Krell they sorted (never said what it was) The support was the best I have ever experienced. In fact I wanted to get off an I knew how to do the rest of the stuff but the guy stayed on and did the lot for me. Brilliant.

    I have it working great now with all my gear and set up just how I want. Well for now anyway.

    Anyway I promise I won't crash the logitech site again ;-)
     

Share This Page

Loading...