Harmony 525 or 655 - which one?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Kopacabana, Mar 15, 2006.

  1. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi there

    I have narrowed my search down to the Logitech Harmony 525 and 655. I'd like to now which one would best suit my needs.

    I have the following gear:

    Philips LCD HD Ready TV
    Sony DAV700FW surround system and DVD player
    Sony VTX800 Freeview box
    Sony Playstation 2

    The 655 looks better quality. Better build with solid buttons. However, I'm not sure I can justify the £80+ price tag. The 525 looks OK and the price tag of around £50 is more 'stomachable' for me. However, having read numerous reviews, and scoured this forum, it would appear there are a number of set up issues.

    Bear in mind that for many years I have had at least 3 remote controls on the go (I'm up to 4 now), and I'm used to it. The all-in-one remote is a pure luxury, not a neccesity, so I don't want to go overboard on the price.

    I've seen these advertised on eBay. Is it worth the risk?

    Any help / advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers
     
  2. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,294
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,079
    All I can say is that, having tried a few Universal Remotes, I didn't like them and believed them to be a waste of money.

    Then, I got my hands on a Harmony 655, set it up via Logitech's website and have never looked back - even the wife has taken easily to it. You can see in my signature line what kit it's controlling.

    I don't know the 525 so cannot comment on the differences between them but am more than happy to recommend the 655.

    Hope that helps.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  3. wokeye

    wokeye
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    I have had both, I had a 655 (I paid about £55 for it) and it broke after a couple of months. So I RMA'd it and got a 525. At first I did not like the 525 as it appeared a little more flimsy, and the Harmony Remote Assistant on the 525 really annoyed me. Once I figured out how to turn off Remote Assistant off and got used to the 525 I have to say I prefer it. I think it looks better, but also if you have Sky (I have it but only for free to air channels) I prefer the inclusion of the buttons obviously made for Sky on the 525, such as "Guide", "Info", "Exit" (I configured this as back-up). So I guess it is up to you, but I have had both and they are both good, but the 525 edges it for me as for normal Sky viewing as I do not have to configure as many of the softkeys, also it looks better IMHO :) And for my setup which is controlling 6 items I found no difference in both remotes.
     
  4. wokeye

    wokeye
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    No it isn't as they are usually no cheaper (actually more expensive usually), and if it breaks like my 655 did you will be screwed. You can get the 525 for £45 from Komplett with a years warranty (not including delivery) thats where I got mine. You will struggle with the 655 as I am not sure that they do not make it anymore. Get the 525, as believe me it is just as good (well better once you get used to it) all just IMHO. See Link:

    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=316376
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Logitech should offer a 2 year warranty on Harmony remotes in the UK (unless Komplett stock is grey import)
     
  6. simpsod1

    simpsod1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18

    I have had the 525 for 5 days now and had these initials problems-

    1.tried to set up activities before I had tested each device fully and reconfigured.

    2.The lag between button press and remote sending signal is too great but his can be adjusted.

    Have got my watch Sky activity working fine now.

    Takes a bit of work but well worth the effort
     
  7. wokeye

    wokeye
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    Ok cheers mate, I never really checked I just guessed it was a year like everything else. What I was trying to say is if things are purchased from Ebay whatever warranty Logitech offer will probably mean nothing, as it will need to be returned to the supplier. I am sure that komplett do offer a 2 year warranty I just never bothered looking, sorry ;)
     
  8. timj

    timj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Harmony 655 was 30 pounds in Dixons today........
     
  9. jason44mag

    jason44mag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham (In NZ at the Mo)
    Ratings:
    +46
    :eek: where timj
     
  10. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Yes £29.97 in my local Dixons today as well. Thought I would try one, they still had at least 2 left.
     
  11. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,294
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,079
    Go for it, they really are good.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  12. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Bought one. It won't work in the AV room but it might work in the play room for the family. Having a few battles with it at the moment. Turns things on but not to the right imput yet!!
     
  13. czzer

    czzer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +105
    Why won't it work in the AV room? There aren't too many things they can't do!
     
  14. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Too much kit for starters, 15 is limiting, VERY limiting. It also need to control some parallel systems which it didn't seem happy with, using say multiple DVD sources.

    Not found a way for it control video processors yet without lots of work by me!!

    But it has potential, if this one works out okay I will look to the bigger brothers. Don't forget I am in the early learning on this device.....
     
  15. czzer

    czzer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +105
    More than 15 devices....that must be some AV room!

    All of the Harmonies are limited to 15 devices, so you probably won't have much luck with other models either(unless you combine 2 or more devices into one...not very elegant I know).

    Feel free to ask any questions about specific problems you are having...I'll do my best to help. Also, have a read through the FAQ on the website...lots of good info on there too.
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    care to list them? i have had a 655 (early and basic harmony) conrolling an enitre demo room of 6 systems 8 devices is large but 15+ thats mad.
    Panel
    PJ
    Screen
    Scaler
    Switcher
    Processor
    AMP
    DVD
    DVD-R
    Console
    VCR
    STB 1
    STB 2
    Sub
    Lights

    thats 15 so what else you got?
     
  17. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Many thanks for the offer of help, I might need it over the coming week. There is no shortage of kit in the AV room. I think I would need at least three of these devices!!
     
  18. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276

    That will cover the DVD players ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...