Harmony 1000 and the RF Wireless Extender

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Spud36, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. Spud36

    Spud36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi

    I'm looking to possibly get the Harmony 1000 remote but need some advice on what I want it to do.

    I gather from reading on this forum that touch screens have the problem of you needing to look at the screen while also pointing the remote at the kit you controlling.

    My intention was to by the RF wireless extender for the Harmony and mount it on the back wall of the room pointing directly at the equipment and therefore no mater how I was holding the remote or where I was standing/sitting or pointing it, it would still work via the RF wireless extender.

    I read the instruction manual and am now unsure if this is possible as I understand it will only control 8 bits of kit and it seemed you have to plug cables into the RF wireless extender :confused:.

    Does anyone know if what I proposed above will work and is the RF wireless extender limited to control upto 8 items even though I believe the remote can control 15?

    If it is not possible is there something on the market which can translate the 1000 RF signals into IF and transmit to the equipment?
     
  2. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Hi

    I dont want to put you off but there are better remotes for about the same £££. Most owners who had this rc didn't have it long, and that has to say something! Try to find all the related threads on this forum bud.

    Rgds

    CH
     
  3. Spud36

    Spud36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers for that

    It doesn't sound promising. I currently have a Harmony remote and like it and the software used to program it. It controls everything I need even the basic PS3 commands so I thought sticking with Harmony would be easy to upgrade.

    I remember when the 1000 came out there where all sorts of problems. I thought they may have been ironed out by now. I'm guessing not.
     
  4. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Please dont rule it out totally, just do plenty of homework to avoid disappointment.

    CH
     
  5. tankstage

    tankstage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earl Shilton
    Ratings:
    +20
    The extenders have a built-in IR blaster, so no cables need plugging in. The Software only lets you add 8 bits of kit to be controlled by the extender. This was not the case with older versions.

    The cables (which are included) are just to place an IR blaster directly onto the piece of kit to be controlled. They are double ended so one cable goes to two items. The extender has four jack sockets for the cables to plug in, and you can direct the IR signal to go to one output only if needed (EG if you have IR codes that interfere with other items of equipment).

    AFAIK there is no other reciever that is compatible with the Harmony.


    Tank (using an 895 with two extenders in different rooms)
     
  6. Spud36

    Spud36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi

    It may sound a bit OTT but could you have two extenders each controlling up to 8 different bits of kit each? I think its 13 pieces of equipment I am looking to control.

    Cheers
     
  7. tankstage

    tankstage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earl Shilton
    Ratings:
    +20
    Yes, you can add two or more extenders.

    Tank
     
  8. Spud36

    Spud36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for all the advice.

    It appears then I will be able to achieve what I was wanting to do with regards to the RF Extender.

    I understand the sky colour buttons issue appears to have been resolved but does anybody know about the following:

    1 Has the unit stopped crashing frequently with the upgrades to software/firmware?
    2 Is it possible to create screens with your own choice of buttons/commands yet or are there still only screens containing a predefined set of buttons?

    Are there any other problems people have with this remote? I get the impression alot of bugs have been ironed out (slowly) over the past months since its release.

    I started reading through the 1000 thread but am not sure about the above 2 questions. (I was skimming as its quite a long thread)

    Cheers for any help
     
  9. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there. Please I am new to this forum and I would like to get some of your professional advice on how to use my remote harmony remote control and RF wireless extender. Here is my scenario I have a DISH network satellite and I can only see all the channels on one tv (My living room TV) but I would like to also see these channels in my room tv as well, so somebody suggested that I will need an Logitech Harmony RF Wireless Extender and an 670 RF wireless remote control. Now my questions are: are these what I really needed and secondly how do I go by making this work please? Thanks in advance and God bless
    Ayakat
     
  10. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
  11. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there and Happy Easter to you as well. Thanks for your response and advice. I have already bout a Logitech Harmony RF Wireless Extender and an 670 RF wireless remote control including a cable spiltter> are you suggesting to replace these with what are in the site you recommend or can I still go ahead and use what I have already? I am confuse, please explain further.
    Thanks
     
  12. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    That's OK.
    You have the satellite receiver and a TV in one room, and want to watch its channels on another TV in another room, so how do you intend to transmit the signal from one room to the other? The Device I linked to is one way of doing that.
    I don't know much about the Harmony 670 model, but thought it works only by Infra-Red. Are you sure that it is capable also of Radio Frequency operation?
    Logi.
     
  13. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks again for the mail but Now I am clueless, but i thought that is what the wireless extender is meant for, to transmit the signal from my living room to my room tv while the remote control allow me to change the channels from the main receiver in my room without actually pointing to the receiver directly. please educate me better and thanks again
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    The Extender sends the controlling commands from the Harmony to the Devices, and as it does that by Wireless those devices can be in another room.
    To get the picture and sound from a receiver in one room to a TV in another you need a quite different device, like the one I linked to.
     
  15. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your continuous assistance, as you can see I am very novice about this but please can you at least let me know which exactly device (name) from the link/list you sent me, I need to get. If it is possible, I will like to watch different channels from the main receiver at the same time, and I have more than one TV, I would like to do this to, also mind you, I have a dish satellite network and I reside in U.S

    Thanks
     
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    That's OK. These things can look complicated at first sight.
    With one satellite receiver you can watch only one channel at a time, either in the same room, or on another TV in another room, or in both rooms.
    To get the picture and sound from the receiver in one room to the TV in another you can use a Radio Frequency Video Sender.
    This will allow you to change the channels while you are watching in the second room, as it includes the remote control facility.
    You won't need the Harmony extender for this purpose.
    There are other methods of getting the picture and sound to the other room that use cabling rather than RF transmission.
    This US site is showing several RF Senders:
    Amazon.com: tv extender: Electronics
     
  17. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once again, I must thank you greatly for continue helping me and I think this should be my final question to you. I have been to the site and decided to buy either AlphaStar V900SX TV Sender (video sender) or Terk Technologies Leapfrog LF-30S Wireless 2.4 GHz A/V Distribution System
    and all i wanted to know now is that would any one of these do and which one would you suggest?, also would I be needing any additional devices after this? Please advice accordingly. If i need to transmit the signal to more than one TV, does that mean I would need two of either of these devices for each additional TV or would one be enough as long as the distance is still within. Another question, if the main receiver is in my living room down stair and I am watching the same channel in my bedroom up stair, how do I change the channel from my room upstair, would I need a special remote control to do this or is this where where harmony 670 remote control come to place or is there another remote I must buy? Thanks again.
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    That's OK - it's a pleasure to help.
    Those are exactly the type of device you need to get the picture and sound from your receiver to TVs in other rooms. The 2.4gHz RF frequency is more common than 900mHz, but I don't know what difference, if any, that would make in the US. The first shows the range as 150", but that is probably a misprint for 150 feet. You would need an extra receiving unit for each additional TV, so you'd need to check on whether they're available on their own. If they're not I'm pretty sure they will be available with other makes, as they are here.
    Here the devices also transmit the IR control signals for changing channels from the original remote or from a Harmony in the second room back to the receiver. These do not appear to have that facility but if you have a Harmony with the RF extender it will do that instead.
    You mentioned that you have a "670 RF wireless remote control". If that is a Harmony I do not know the model number, so could you check that it IS compatible with the Harmony RF extender?
     
  19. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I will continue thanking you for your assistance. I will try the 2.4 ghz and definitely keep you inform regarding my progress. my remote is logitech harmony 670 universal remote.
    thanks again
     
  20. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    You're very welcome, but do check on the point I made about the 670 - as far as I know only the 800s and 1000s take the RF extender.
     
  21. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have gotten the 2.4ghz Rf frequency and I hope this is the same thing I needed but my rf wireless extender will be used with my remote.
    thanks
     
  22. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hello there again, please can you tell me if I get the right device and what is the difference between these and which one should I have gotten instead: Terk Technologies Leapfrog LF-30S Wireless 2.4 GHz A/V Distribution System and TERK LF30S WaveMaster 2.4GHz Audio/Video Transmitter with Remote Extender. The first one is the one I got but it looks like I should gotten the second one instead, please advise accordingly so I can make changes if need to. Thanks again
     
  23. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    The item you have is fine. The other one is something that you may need in addition. The important thing is to determine whether your Harmony really can use the Harmony IR/RF extender - and I don't think it can, so do check that! If it can't then you'll need that second Terk device in addition.
     
  24. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What can I say, you are in deed a God sent, and again and again I shall be forever grateful. I have checked and you are right, it cannot work, I need the 890 or 1000 logitech RF wireless remote instead of the 670 which I bought due to lack of my knowledge but thanks to this forum and to you especially I am begins to know one or two things. Anyway, I have contacted the remote seller and offer to pay the difference if they are willing to swap it for me. Thanks again.

    Different questions, is true and possible that I can add more channels to my dish or channels should I say? Now I only have one dish and one receiver however my installer claims that he is bring something later on that will add more channels to the satellite but I am yet to see if and I would like to know if he is talking truth. Also, currently most of my channels are not hd, he told me we can either purchase an hd receiver or adapter, please are all these talks possible?
     
  25. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    That's quite all right, it's a pleasure to help.
    You really don't need to spend a lot more on a new Harmony and the additional Harmony extender, as that second Terk device would do what you want.
    Are you actually receiving any HD channels with your present equipment? If so then your receiver must already be an HD one.
    Logi
     
  26. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you again. Ok, the installer told me that my dish I think is capable of receiving an hd channels but also he suggested that I should get a nfusion hd nuvieno 8psk which run aroun $400 or something like that to get all hd channels. The guy just confused me every time I ask him questions. Anyway, lets just say I am not receiving any hd now, but some of the movies are so crystal clear to make me believe that some must be hd but if you can tell me how to know for sure or tell the difference I will be grateful. Or is there anywhere on the receiver for me to look.

    As per the second Terk device, I will just go ahead and buy the second terk, but what about my logitech RF wireless extender, would it be just useless or can I still put it to use, I know the 670 harmony remote is useless as the seller says they do not carry 890 or 1000 so therefore the possibilities of swapping is not possible any longer, but I would still like to know if there is use for the extender itself.
    Thanks again and God bless
     
  27. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    The first thing to do is check whether your TV is capable of showing the HD picture, and if so at what standard of HD. Unless the present receiver is clearly marked HD, or has a reference to HD in its manual, it's unlikely to be able to receive HD channels.
    Ah, you already got the Harmony extender - they sold it to you with the 670?? Is it a small plastic device straight at one end and the rest curved elliptically, with a socket for power at one side and four sockets for emitter cables at the straight end? If so it's made to work specifically with only three or four models of Harmony. There might be a use for the thin cables with the emitters on the end.
    Thank you +
     
  28. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I would have checked the manual for the receiver but cant find the manual and to make the matter worse there is no name on the receiver to check it on line but I will call the installer and ask him again.
    As per the extender I believe the mistake came from my end because I bought them separately and this explain why I got the wrong remote to go along withe the extender. my extender is exactly what you described but is black in color and is call..
    Logitech harmony rf wireless extender, my problem now is that I have this wrong remote control that is useless but I am just wondering if the extender can still be useful or do u suggest i get the 890 harmony to work with the extender instead of the second Terk since i got the extender already? The installer also claim to be bring something for me to make me get additional some international like africa channels
     
  29. Ayakata

    Ayakata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there, I am sorry I misread your question...yes my TV rather than my receiver is capable of show HD pictures (1080P) but my installer said that my receiver is not an HD receiver, it is nfusion solaris (single channel).

    My question please, what is the best receiver that I can get out there with all the features (multiple channels of course)? my installer suggested: NFUSION NUVENIO NV HD w/ 8PSK INSTALLED...is this correct pls?
    He also said he is coming to install an international LNB
    to my dish, so I can see more additional international channels, is this correct or is just wasting my time. Please advise accordingly.
    Thanks again
     
  30. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    That looks to be a high quality High-Definition Satellite receiver with good facilities and at a reasonable price.
    The channels you can receive depend entirely on the antenna and its lnbs - what size it is, whether it is fixed on to one satellite, or can be moved by a motor to point at more than one satellite, if it is fixed whether it has only one lnb, or can take more than one lnb pointed at more than one satellite - let me know, if you can find out.
    It does seem a pity to have the extender and not use it, but I'd base my decision on the cost factor, and the Terk extender costs way less than a new Harmony.
    Maybe you should wait until you get the first Terk device sending the picture and sound from the receiver to the TV in the other room.
     

Share This Page

Loading...