Harman Kardon DV22 is multiregion dvd?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by vicsay, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. vicsay

    vicsay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyboy, I like to buy a dvd player Harman Kardon DV22 but my only question is that if this player is multiregion, because I like to play dvd's from region 1,2 and 4.

    In some pages say that is region 1 and 0, but others say that is only region 1.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    It can be modified by remote control code to be multi region
     
  3. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    made mine multi region via the remote took all of 5 seconds :D

    there are several hacks available depending if you have the latest software upgrade (available from hk web site)

    if you buy the player from sevenoaks hifi they will give you a print out of the hack :smashin:
     
  4. vicsay

    vicsay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, well I going to buy the dvd player from circuitcity.com, and I don't think that this company give me the hack to make it multiregion.

    Well, the Firmware is to updgrade de dvd player to play dvd's of region 2.

    But where can I find the hack to make it multiregion by remote control, because I search in some pages and I can't find it.


    Thansk. :)
     
  5. vicsay

    vicsay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I Found one hack, but I don't if it work.

    Someone now if this code work?


    3, 1, 4, 1, 5, 9, 0



    Thanks again
     
  6. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    that was the code i used

    sorry but in my original reply i did not realise you are in mexico :cool:

    best ask your supplier for details :D
     
  7. vicsay

    vicsay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, thanks, well circuitcity not send products out of usa, but I have a friends that live close to Brownsville and he can buy me the dvd and send me to México, but I like to now about de dvd player before I buy the product, in specific about the regions that can play, because I have dvd's of region 4 and 1 and coming soon I going to buy a dvd of region 2.

    Thanks
     
  8. parkem50

    parkem50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1
    HI,I was thinking of buying this player myself, to match my hk 630 amp. Can you guys give me the run down? I have a pioneer 525, quite old. Will the HK be an improvement? what do you think? Any info welcome, build quality, cd playback, looks! I rarley get to a hifi shop that sells HK stuff.
    Many thanks.
     
  9. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    i love my hk dvd22 played using component to panasonic viera plasma :D

    best deal i got at the end of last year was £199 from sevenoaks hifi - which at the time was £100 less than other shops - there may be better deals out there now

    i made it multi region as noted and i have never had a problem playing any regions - it has NEVER refused to play a disc which is more than can be said of a lot of players - no macroblocking either

    i use it in progressive mode as found this gave optimum quality with my gear

    oh and music sounds fine on it as well - although to be honest if you are into serious cd music there are better players out there at a price ;)

    all in all well recommended

    hope this helps
     
  10. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    samjet...have you ever had any problems with your remote.....i.e. using the navigation buttons in a dvds menu (scene select for example) it sometimes loses the picture (seems to invoke v off mode when you press the down arrow) or other times it just takes you back to the movie?
     
  11. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    touch wood not had any problems :D yet!

    now i'm going to get bloody paranoid waiting for this to happen :eek:
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    i've had two and they both did it....very annoying
     
  13. OneDesi

    OneDesi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Black Country
    Ratings:
    +242

    Hi

    I had the pioneer 575 (had 636 before that) which I upgraded to a DVD 22 as Sevenoaks were/are selling them for £150. All I can say is that the DVD 22 blew away the pioneer in temrs of detail etc and I thought the pioneer was a great upgrade from the 636. I would almost say that pound for pound the DVD 22 was better than the Denon 2900 which I tried on the day that was going for £600. The extra money wasn't worth it!

    Hope this helps.
     
  14. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    all very true - its a superb player imo - and i've seen £1k+ players

    the fact is that its not an 'in fashion/trendy' player or company :D

    what really amazes me is that people keep raving about denon players yet there are dozens if not hundreds of posts about everything from macroblocking to software bugs - and yet people keep buying them :suicide:
     
  15. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Well I guess its down to personal opinion?

    I had a lengthy demo of the HK 22 and found it to be shockingly bad - a real lack of detail, blacks werent all there, and found a Pioneer 575 to be better in all areas. Pity, as I was looking for an upgrade - Compare a HK 22 to the likes of a Denon 2910 and you'll be shocked to the difference, the mid-range Denon's are in a different league.
     
  16. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    don't know what you used as a display with the dvd22 but with the panny viera plenty of black and detail :D

    as i said too many issues with the current range of denons :(
     
  17. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    pq damn good with my panny too!
     
  18. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    one point i should perhaps make is that my dvd22 is connected straight to the viera with high end component leads not through av amp (direct route = pure signal:D ) and audio is handled through high end coax to av amp (yamaha 750)
     
  19. vicsay

    vicsay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good opinions, the post was for know if this player can be multiregion.

    But I like that make opinions about the dv 22 to know if is a good dvd player to buy.


    Thank :)
     
  20. dustyscoins

    dustyscoins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    N.B. this player is not Multi-Region as default. To activate Multi-Region simply follow these instructions: Remove any discs from player / Put player in Standby mode / Press and hold 'Clear' on remote control while powering back On / Press OSD on remote to bring up menu / Enter the following code on remote: 3, 1, 4, 1, 5, 9, 0 to select region free mode / The player now resets and is region free
     
  21. lupo

    lupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Berwick upon Tweed
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi all,

    I am quite intersted in this player, what is it like for layer changes.
    I have a Pioneer 444 it is not that good, my old samsung 709 was better.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  22. vicsay

    vicsay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0



    Thanks dustyscoins for the code. :thumbsup:
     
  23. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    put it this way i cannot tell when layer changes takes place with my dvd22:D

    hope that helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...