1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Harman Kardon and Room EQ?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by General Skanky, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Haven't noticed it mentioned, but the future HK amps look to incorporate a form of room eq in their amps. It's called Ezyset/EQ I believe.

    I have no idea how good or bad it'll be or how it's implemented.

    Just saw it following someone elses link to future news from HK.

    If HK get it right and nobody else uses it for a while (but I'm sure Denon will), it could produce an interesting technology battle in the future.

    HK have the great advantage of having Lexicon in their stable. What a great position to be in.

    For me, it'll mean L7, Room EQ, all the extra toys and whistles like PL IIx etc. I'm only after a processor, and until I can buy into a Naim or Arcam, and as long as it sounds good, it looks very promising.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Ezyset has been a feature of HK amps for a while.......current system uses a Mic built into Remote handset....
     
  3. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    I know. That feature was on an old 5500 I owned for a while.

    The 'new' name is EzysetEQ.

    Implying EQ for the room.
     
  4. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never found the Ez Set accurate and when compared to a SPL meter it was quite a way out and needed altering, i would of thought that the newer models would be better though.
     
  5. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Me too.

    I've always set up manually anyway.

    However, with the Lexicon MC12 implementing room EQ in conjunction with a microphone, there seems to be a lot of promise on the horizon for the HK kit.
     
  6. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,742
    Frankly none of them are accurate (no idea about higher end but the mid-range kit generally gets thing wrong).
     
  7. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure it will trickle down to the other Harmon Group Products and i have always liked there amps, plenty of power even though they have a low watts rateing there current output is huge... :)

    Very True even my Z9 didn't do a good job of setting the Levels :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...