Question Hardwired power leads and wall mounting

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by lee1980, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    Seeing some now seem to have hard wired power leads, Panasonic FZ952 etc. New Tv for extension is going to be wall mounted, have trunking (that will soon be plastered over) to slide HDMI and power lead down.
    Of course a 3 pin UK plug will not fit down it, only option I can think of is to cut off the plug and put on new one?

    But will this invalidate warranty? imagine its going to be an issue for many if wall mount and installers that come out to fit what will they do?

    Thanks
    Regards

    Lee.
     
  2. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,659
    Yes , I,d say the warranty would be gone.
    There's no way it would be accepted as a return anyway , not with the plug chopped off , so you would need to be happy with it before doing this.
     
  3. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    Thought so thanks, this seems a step backwards to not have a detachable lead. I replaced the one kettle style on my plasma with a longer white one and had no issues.
    Doh I say.
     
  4. tommitch

    tommitch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +858
    Could get the trunking with detachable front?
     
  5. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,304
    There are quite a lot of views online about this and the consensus seems to be that you replace a moulded plug and it should not void your warranty. However some manufacturers include this term in the warranty T&Cs. It shouldn't effect it under the consumer rights act either.

    You wouldn't be able to exchange as you say though.
     
  6. StackH

    StackH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    I returned a Sony 65XE8596 after five days because of the frame repeat issue, and had already wall mounted it by that stage and cut the moulded plug off. I spoke to the retailer before returning it and told them about the plug, and all they said was to ensure that I fitted a standard plug to the lead before returning it.

    I guess it would depend on the retailer, and possibly the reason for rejection, but if a defect appears months into owning the product I can't see how having replaced the plug would void the warranty?
     
  7. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    Currently is, chased in to wall, idea being once its plastered over can make hole at height needed up wall then feed, power and HMDI lead down to bottom. Would of needed much larger trunking to fit a uk plug down!
     
  8. tommitch

    tommitch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +858
    Ah I see, yes I suppose you don't want be mounting the TV then plastering after :laugh:

    Or, you could, get the plasterer to do everywhere except over the trunking, then mount TV and have a go plastering the trunking yourself? Or leave trunking accessible, mount TV and then only fill in the visible bits once TV is mounted?
     
  9. terencejames

    terencejames
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    HIbaldstow
    Ratings:
    +195
    Just out of interest, how did you get the trunking into the wall? I'm looking to mount my soundbar onto a solid wall but I'm not confident in how to go about it.
     
  10. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    Will ask who ever buy off and get in writing if cut off plug etc.
    Yeah but messy and not likely to look so good will see what my plasterer says!
     
  11. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    New build extension, so quite light blockwork thermalite type blocks, will be dob and dab plaster boarded with a thin skim of plaster over the top. The trunking white plastic with a snap on cover is stuck in a channel chased out with an SDS chisel power tool. Same for all the socket boxes, only needs about 10mm deep cut as rest of depth is made up in plaster board.
    All speaker wires etc are hidden behind plaster board.

    If older solid wall just be harder to cut chase out.
     
  12. Abacus

    Abacus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Torbay
    Ratings:
    +482
    Is there enough room behind the TV to be able to secure the mains cable, if so, just make up your own extension lead with a single socket on one end to put the TV plug into, and then feed the extension cable down the trunking before putting the plug on the other end? (That way you can leave the TV untouched)

    Bill
     
  13. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,659
    Thats what I Would do.
    @lee1980 if you are still constructing, it sounds like maybe you are, have a socket put in behind the TV.
    Remove all doubts.
     
  14. hertz777

    hertz777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    I had the same problem and did as above, get a 1 socket extension lead that you can remove plug from then put the 3pin plug behind the tv
     
  15. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    I have an AVF close to wall mount to use, so would have to chase out a pocket to fit this in do able but annoying for this reason. No doubt it be hard enough to get tv on wall and connections in.

    Do many other tv's have it hard wired?
     
  16. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    Also what will installers do when if paid for install and has a channel in wall for leads, I guess the power lead will just have to hang down wall!
    I guess will have to ask if it is indeed removable or not.
     
  17. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,659
    Quite a few yes.

    LG oleds are hard wired, but at least the lead can be removed easily enough by taking off a small panel and unplugging the proprietary connector from the mainboard.
    The lead is also available as a spare part for about £30 so you could go ahead and cut the plug knowing you could restore to original condition if you had too.

    Older Panasonic plasmas were not exactly hard wired but did have a sort of proprietary Latchable IEC connector so for wall mounting you were still in the same situation, i.e. have a socket put in or cut the plug off.
     
  18. lee1980

    lee1980
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    U.K., Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    Thanks, will ask for sure which ever TV I decide if got a fixed lead.
     

Share This Page

Loading...