Hard Drive ?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by scott69, Apr 15, 2003.

  1. scott69

    scott69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I successfully installed a second hard drive for storing digital video footage on. Although I bought a 80GB drive it only shows up as a 40GB drive. My primary drive is 40GB, the 80GB is a slave. Is it something to do with this, or have I been done out of 40GBs???
     
  2. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    What Os are you using & what Format fat32 or ntfs

    Boogie man (Graeme)
    :confused:
     
  3. james.miller

    james.miller
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    also what drive is it? you can set IBM's to run as a 32gb drive via jumpers at the back of the drive. you *could* be in a similar situation
     
  4. gab2001uk

    gab2001uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    What does your BIOS say the drive is?
    Sometimes setting it there if the BIOS has an autodetect will give its true stats.
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As said previously.

    Check your HDD's jumper settings, some drives have a setting to limit the drive size.

    Check your bios - maybe something in there astray. Try "manual" as opposed to "auto detect".

    Have you formatted the drive? NTFS is my choice (unless you're on Win 98/SE).

    ;)
     
  6. scott69

    scott69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mystery Solved !!!
    E-Buyer, who were offering free delivery this month, have sent me a 40GB Drive by accident.
    The BIOS did ID the drive which was a different model number than the 80GB model.
    Thanks anyway guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice